Don Bowen Update 2009-07-03

In This Update: Macomb Heritage Days, First cycle of new treatment ends, rough week, First Platelet Transfusion,Funnies about having to be treated like I’m 70+

I wish I had immediately uploaded my pictures from Heritage Days in Macomb, but I didn’t and Kelly took the camera on her Chorus trip to Boston. I did have a good visit and felt pretty good most of the time. I got to see friends like Tony Setser and Dave Distefano who I had not seen for a very long time. There just wasn’t enough time to reminisce. Macomb was a great place to grow up. Just one more thing I’m indebted to my parents for having provided.

Last week was pretty tough, which I’m sure you figured out not seeing any updates. My head hurt pretty bad and the pain pills did little to help. I hope some of it was from the chemo pills I was taking on this new treatment. I finished the last IV for cycle 1 last Monday, but still had pills to take every day at lunch until Thursday. I did pretty well for the 14 days  of pills and only threw up once. Constipation is still a problem, but I’m succumbing to advertising and actually bought some Activia to see if  it can help. I’ll let you know.

I was looking forward to no more needles until the second cycle which starts next Friday. However, that was not to be. Thursday morning I had to get labs according to the treatment protocol. Later that day they called to tell me that I had very low platelets. So low they wanted me to have a platelet transfusion this morning. No wonder I’m not getting enough sleep. I have to get up early every day and get poked with needles. We got there around 9am, but because the blood they gave me, caused me to break out in hives, we didn’t get home until 2pm. Have you ever seen the movie Hitch where Will Smith breaks out in hives and sips an entire bottle of benedryl? It wasn’t near that bad, but my upper lip did swell quite a bit.

I wish I had little video snipets  of Eileen caring for me. It reminds me of the apes manicuring each other. She’s always straightening my shirts or tucking something in or picking something off of me. I haven’t seen her put anything into her mouth so maybe that means I’m not slobbering too bad yet :-) It is amazing what I’ll run into if someone doesn’t guide me or hold my hand. I’m pathetic. One of the side benefits of today’s hospital visit was getting to see my nurse Jerrie from OSF 1700. It was no surprise to learn how legendary her reputation is and how much she is loved. I’m so thankful God made people that want to be nurses and give themselves like that. Can you imagine having to stick your own arms?! :-) I can’t.

My dad and brother are coming over to spend a few days with me next week and it will hopefully be quality Father and Sons time. My Mom will join us for part of it.

I have been reflecting a lot this past week on selfishness and how selfishly I have lived my life, by far my biggest mistakes. This is pretty surprising for someone blessed with parents like I was. Unfortunately selfishness produces worse vision than even brain tumors :-) It was a comment from one of my daughters that restored some of my “vision”, but it’s not really the way you want to understand. She wasn’t even saying it to point out my selfishness, but God wastes nothing.

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

(John 10:10) I never mean these to be sermons though it is how I hear them from God :-) so I’ll stop there, but if you want “the rest of the story”, feel free to call or send me an email.

I’m still expecting and praying for a miracle, God’s gonna deliver it, PRAY BIG!

10 Responses to “Don Bowen Update 2009-07-03”

  1. Angie @ Keep Believing Says:

    Miralax helped Brian in his constant constipation battle with chemo/pain killers.

    KEEP BELIEVING

  2. Grace Will Says:

    I’ve just read your blogs of the last 2-3 months. I stand amazed at what you have gone through and ARE going through, yet remain so upbeat. God is amazing, isn’t He about being with us and caring for us. Our prayers continue to be with you and your family.

    Fourth of July just passed and I remember all the good times we had on many Fourths during the past years. In mid-June, our whole family was here in Montana for a week, more or less. Of course, our tribe is not as large as the Bowens but we still had a house full.

    Hang in there, and we’ll be hanging with you.

  3. Ellen Lindgren Says:

    Dear Don and family, You are always in my thoughts and prayers. I LOVE sheep, and there are many, many verses referenced in the Bible concerning God’s word about this “precious” animal. And God said, “I KNOW my sheep, and my sheep KNOW me”. Isn’t God AWESOME? The words we read from the Bible in time of illness and walks “through the valley” sustain us and give us hope and courage, day by day. I will continue to pray for that hope and courage for you, and for complete healing. May God Bless and Keep You, Always, Ellen

  4. bob geraci Says:

    Thinking of you and your family. We spoke on phone not too long ago. Hope all is well

    Bob

  5. Ellen Lindgren Says:

    Dear Don and Family, Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers every day. A reading from the Bible, The Letter of James: Chapter 1: Vs. 12: Blessed is a man who perserveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which “the Lord” has promised to those who love Him.” I’m praying for complete healing for you, Don. May God continue to walk with you each and every day and give to you continued strength and courage. Gods promises never fail. They are like the sun that rises every morning, and and sets every evening. “Morning, by Morning, new mercies I see! Great is Thy Faithfulness, Lord Unto me!! Love and prayers, Ellen

  6. Christy Hudgins Dammen Says:

    Dear Don,
    Fresh Mejool dates are in season and in our stores now and are incredibly tasty in addition to working against constipation–much more effective than prunes or similar fiber-based products.

    I don’t think I ever saw you do anything that was selfish, and you have incredible faith, which in itself is unselfish.

    My prayers go along with your many, many friends and family members. Christy

  7. Jenna Says:

    Hey Don,

    The Lord brought you to my mind today. Glad I checked in. I’m definitely praying. God is going to deliver you.

    Bless you,
    Jenna

  8. Kay Scott Says:

    I just wanted to let you know Paige and Trace and I are praying for you every day….I miss your incredible words of humor and faith. And you always seemed to put into words what I was thinking!!!!!
    Hope to hear from you soon!!!!!
    Make sure to tell the girls hi from Paige….my little college girl now.

  9. bob Says:

    Think about you and wonder how things are going. Things are to a degree stable here, and always hope for you.

  10. David Shane Says:

    Don: These days we are thinking a lot about you. I will not forget the conversation you and I had at your Heritage Days family dinner, and your focus on the others there, and myself and my family. May God’s Peace embrace and protect you and your family. Dave

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

