Don Bowen Update 2009-10-26

It’s been hard to train a new camera man to understand that pictures take up less space than the words required to send the equivalent message.  Here’s chair to bathroom to bed:

Don chocolate pie & whip creamDon's bathroom toiletDon's 1st Livingroom bedPackers are, of course, beginning and end.

Garbers and Monohans came over so Mike and I could celebrate our birthdays together.

Don & Mike Monohan birthday cakeGarbers & DonLisa, Todd, Carolyn, Katy and Daniel

Amy came home for a 3-day fall break from Indiana Wesleyan University and baked some sugar cookies to paint with her grandmother – renewing an activity Amy had with she visited her grandmother when Amy was in grade school.

Cookie girls Amy Kelly AndreaCookie girls Amy Kelly Andrea 1Amy, Kelly and Andrea

I experienced my first non-visit with two special friends: Mike Wiggins from Bloomington IL and his sister Jodi from Crystal Lake IL.  They brought a caramel apple pie and a peach pie.  Everybody else enjoyed their visit and the pies they brought.  I was struggling with an extended period (about 8-10 hours) of severe stomach pain.  We were unsure of the cause, but Jan the nurse came with a couple of suppositories and some special medication – including morphine – which gave me some relief.  Mike and Jodi – my apologies for not hosting your visit in a manner more suited to my joy that you came to see me.

Mike Jodi Wiggins Julie FrankMike, Jodi Wiggins and sister Julie Frank with pies.

I am very proud to tell you that my youngest daughter, Lauren, is becoming a guitar player.  I’m sure she’ll be on stage before you know it.  Only then will I be able to show you a picture of her with her guitar.

My energy level is so low at present that I’m unable to host visitors for any meaningful kind of visit.  Eileen will know with a phone call if a visit from anyone would be useful for you or me.  Thanks for your prayers for me and my family and for understanding that I cherish your friendship – even if I can’t speak to you now in person.

I need a miracle.  I’m expecting God to deliver one, pray big.

Don and my Dad

6 Responses to “Don Bowen Update 2009-10-26”

  1. Alice & Paul Trimmer Says:

    Don, you and your family are in our prayers! God be with you!

    Blessings and peace!!
    Paul and Alice Trimmer
    Macomb, IL

  2. Angie @ KEEP BELIEVING Says:

    Happy you already seem to have quite the repor with your hospice help. They are awesome. They know how to do what they do – well.

    Eileen, I am especially thinking of you and your girls right now. I pray you are enjoying this blessed time right now with your loved ones and visitors. I know- COMPLETELY – how you are feeling and what you are going through. I pray each and every single solitary second you spend right now with Don is magical, blessed and wonderful. Breathe him in. Cherish every single second. Talk til you are blue in the face. Sit quietly and beautifully still. God is blessing this time. You will look back on it fondly some day.

    KEEP BELIEVING

  3. Scot and Suzy S Says:

    We will keep praying, for strength, wisdom on how to manage all that must be managed including Don’s pain, and the peace of God to continue to fill your home and hearts.

    With love,

    Scot and Suzy
    1 Corinthinans 15:58

  4. Mike and Nancy J Says:

    We love all of you Bowens! And we are praying with you and for you. Don, I hope you are getting some time alone with each of your lovely ladies whenever you can. May God bless and hold all of you!
    Big hugs,
    Mike & Nancy Jordahl
    Colorado Springs

  5. John & Elaine Says:

    Don, Hope you, Eileen and the girls are aware of our prayers and love. You are in the best of hands and as always an inspiration to us. God does work miracles and the examples of your faith and love have been one of the many in my life.

    We give our love, our hugs and our prayers to you in absentia,

    John & Elaine

  6. carson watkins Says:

    Don I have always enjoyed listening to you in the. quartet.you and your family hang tough will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Sincerly carson

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

