Don Bowen Update 2009-10-31

Since  I’m no longer able to tell my dad what to write, I’m using the newest technology with him that he has frequently asked me about.  No need for any form of electronic equipment or material, I just transfer my thoughts through the air to anyone who happens to be tuned in.  My dad has found the frequency, so he’s tuned in.  Here I am at work, transmitting to my dad:

Don resting 102709

Quite a few family members and friends celebrated my 51st birthday (Oct 29) during several days.  I know they had a good time with each other even though I slept through it all.  They may not have been aware, but I did ask CNA Sharon to give me a bath so I’d be presentable at my birthday party activities.  Clean sleeping goes with clean living.  Both are important to me.

Don and CNA Sharon 102709Nurse Jan Student Nurse Terri

Nurse Jan and Student Nurse Terri from Saint Francis Hospice make sure my vitals are OK.  They translate what they hear and see into their counsel for Eileen so she’ll be sure she is giving me what I need.  I keep being reminded of how I’m unable to get along without the special women in my life.   Thanks Sharon, Jan, Terri and Eileen!

I know I missed visiting with my friends, Mike and Jodi Wiggins, but they had the honor of taking my place of sitting in my green, Green Bay Packers chair.  I’m sure now they will be cheering for the Packers to win in the future.

Mike Jodi Wiggins

Long distance visitors from Austin TX who work with me at UnboundID (www.unboundid.com) include (right to left) Kevin LeMay, Andy Land, Neil Wilson and Steve Shoaff.  On the far left, from San Francisco CA, is Chuck Mortimer – former colleague at Sun Microsystems.  You guys have helped to give my career real meaning and excitement – THANKS!

Chuck Mortimer Steve Shoaff Neal Wilson Andy Land Kevin LeMay

I’m so  blessed to have loving family come to see me.  My sister Sue, her husband Al and daughter Alissa came from Macomb.  Some of Eileen’s family also came on Friday, Oct. 30: George and Joan Boddy (dad and mom) and Paulette and Chris Boddy (sister-in-law and brother).  Eileen’s brothers, Mike and George Boddy with early Saturday morning Kelly.

Sue Al Alissa DeRoosGeorge Joan Paulette Chris BoddyMike George Boddy with Kelly

Today is Halloween, so my friends and family are celebrating.  One of the family’s favorite card games, Dalmuti, drew the following players: Joey Eells, Lauren, Neil Wilson, Steve Shoaff, Megan, Liz Wiertel, Kevin LeMay and Andy Land.  Megan finished as the Great Dalmuti.  Kelly dressed as a “nerd” for a party with a couple of her “nerdy’ dressed friends.

DalmutiNerd Kelly

When words fail me, I turn to the Psalms – like:  (I’m happy to let you share them with me)

1  The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2  He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3  He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5  Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.  Psalm 23

I need a miracle.  I’m expecting God to deliver one, pray big.

Don and my Dad

One Response to “Don Bowen Update 2009-10-31”

  1. ratu Says:

    he is strong man..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

