Don Bowen Update: 2008-01-31

Can I just say that I’m tired of eating when I have to? I haven’t lost my appetite, it’s just that forced feeding to keep to a schedule is just not my style. I have been eating breakfast at 7:30 and then lunch at 10:30 so I can take the temodar three hours later at 1:45. I am actually gaining weight. This is probably good, since I hear the tiredness may not really kick in until week three – just let it try!

Sleep was not great last night. Not sure why. Woke up at 1:58, 3:25, 5:59 never did fall back asleep. I end up praying when I wake, which doesn’t help with the falling back asleep part. I’m pretty tired now so tonight is sure to be better. Eileen says I say weird things to her right after I fall asleep, like, “Where did you go on your trip?”. I’m hoping this is not her first symptom 🙂

You prayed, God answered. Today was the best day yet. In basically every way. I got there about 2:40 and they got me in at 2:52 and I was done at 3:03 – 11 minutes flat. Very little pain on my head and I think falling asleep at some point in the future is a possibility. At one point I thought I had to sneeze and I panicked a bit. As I said yesterday, there is just no room inside that mask to execute a sneeze. I started trying to breathe through the other nostril, but remembered I didn’t own that trick 🙂 Started to try to breathe through my mouth, but since the tightness forces my bottom gums up into pretty much of a Popeye overlap that just doesn’t work. Praise God, the sneeze went away.

When I get done with the session I’m in that long bed, but it’s raised pretty high up. After they take the mask off I usually pop up pretty fast and it kind of freaks them out. They say, “Don’t jump!”. So today I just posed for a layout picture (below). Then Ryan said, “All you need is a bear skin rug”. “Yeah”, I said, “and a cute hospital gown with the nice slit up the backside.” No one laughed. Not even me. So I had to share it with you 🙂

One of the other patients told me that they call guys like me “Waffle Head” when we get done. Here’s why:

These guys (below) are the real heroes. God is using them to be my lifesavers and I really appreciate them. They’re great people, very helpful, friendly and let me take lots of pictures until I got what I wanted.

Tomorrow our appointment is at 8:45, so no food beforehand. I’m hoping the anti-nausea pill will do the trick otherwise it may be a cherry protein shake offering to the porcelain god 🙂 I am going to put a peanut butter sandwich by my bed and if I wake up before 4:45 (3 hours before I have to take the chemo pill), I’ll eat it! The good thing about this new time is we may be home by 9:30 and have the rest of the day.

Soaking prayer tonight was incredible. Thanks to those of you who came out despite the weather. I believe we’re going to see miracles! I feel like I’m already living some!

Planning on seeing a movie with friends tomorrow, Mike, Wendy, Todd and Lisa. Was thinking about Bucket List, but I’m not sure. Let me know if you saw it and what you thought.

Speaking of my friend Mike. Would you pray for both his mom, Vi, who has very advanced cancer and short of God’s miraculous touch may not have much longer, and his mother-in-law, Carol, who is undergoing dialysis, but today started having spasms and had to be admitted. This is a lot for Mike, Wendy and their 4 kids to deal with. Thanks!

“The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.” Psalm 9:9

Think God wants us to pray big?

“Ask of Me and I will make the nations your inheritance, the ends of the earth your possession. ” Psalm 2:8

Leave a Reply

