Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-03

I couldn’t resist sharing one of the funnier vision problem “events” that I’ve experienced a few times now. I don’t know how your teeth brushing routine works, but here’s what I do. I hold my toothbrush in my left hand. I then put the toothpaste on from left to right. Maybe this is because I write left handed. Anyway, when I’m done this is what I see:

Looks fine, right? But when I take a closer look, adjusting for my left-side vision problem, I see the full story:

This has actually happened a couple times. I think God let’s me do it to give me a laugh and I have to say it works. It won’t surprise you if you know what cheapskate I am that I shove all that toothpaste in my mouth 🙂 Hey, it ain’t going back in the tube!

Oh, I promised you in my last update that I’d prove God got me up at 4:30 so I could eat my peanut butter sandwich. I went into the bathroom so that I wouldn’t wake Eileen up. It was a good sized sandwich and I really didn’t plan on eathing the whole thing, but I love peanut butter (and I put honey on it too!).

I actually look pretty awake don’t I? Yes, Pat and Jamie. That is an OpenSSO t-shirt 🙂

Weekend Update

It has been nice not to have to do radiation this weekend. The highlight for the weekend was singing on stage at church again less than four weeks after surgery. I actually thought I would cry more than sing, but only got a bit choked up during the third song each of the three services. Somehow the words in the second verse of (Be My) Everything by Tim Hughes that say, “God in my laughing, there in my weeping, God in my hurting, God in my heeling” were a bit much. Fortunately my stagemates and the congregation didn’t need my help.

Before our pastor, Cal, started his message during both services on Sunday, he called me back out on stage. He told everyone that I was teaching them how to go through something like this. He meant God using me 🙂 He also shared what I say all the time, which is pray big, I need a miracle and our God specializes in them. Then he and the entire congregation prayed for me. What does it feel like to have thousands of people cheer for your return and then together ask God to bring His healing touch to you? IT FEELS UNBELIEVABLE! For the many of you who were there, I can’t thank you enough. Cal, Dawn and Harold in particular for letting me be there.

Drugs and Side Effects

I really wish I could “Just Say No” 🙂 I can already tell that the drug thing is really going to get old, but hopefully I’ll settle into a routine.

I made an executive decision Saturday not to take my decadron the rest of the weekend. It is supposed to reduce the swelling, which could cause headaches. Unfortunately, it gave me some nasty acid indigestion. The Pepcid doesn’t help as much as I wish it did. Well, tonight my head started hurting again. Because of swelling? No idea, but I reversed my decision and took some. So far so good.

I’ve been fighting an upset stomach of some kind all weekend. It’s a side effect, but of what? 🙂 The drugs I’m taking or the food I’m eating? I just don’t know, but I’m going to be more careful about my diet on weekends in the future!

Mental State

So, how am I really doing? I continue to have my moments. What is a “moment”? It’s when I focus on the problem – even for a few seconds. When I worry about what would happen to my wife and my daughters? Will I really stay strong and keep faith if it gets tough? I don’t want to enumerate the rest of the questions, but there are dozens and they all get asked in a matter of seconds as they race through my head. Possibly a little like when your life flashes before your eyes. Because God is good these times are very short. Rarely even minutes. But the loneliness that can invade in that time is very real. Fortunately, it’s then that God, so far without fail, has sent His peace and I feel His presence. Before this I believed God’s peace was real, but when you physically feel it and the loneliness (and scariness) vanish, you KNOW it’s real.

Maybe this would be a good place for some humor 🙂 Just wanted you to know that I don’t think I’m on a joy ride. BUT, I am experiencing incredible joy on it.

“I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.” Psalm 34:4

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

