Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-06

Did you miss me? πŸ™‚

I decided Monday night, after three poor nights of sleep, not to take an ambien. I was sure that I was tired enough to fall asleep on my own, even if it took awhile. I was wrong. Seems funnier now than then, but at 3am I finally decided that I was hungry and ate my sandwich early πŸ™‚ I know I got some sleep between 4:30 and 7, but it was not much. Amazingly, my head did not hurt the next day, like it can from serious lack of sleep. Thank you, God!

Tuesday’s treatment was short again (no X-rays), but I was convinced more than ever that my “long” hair was just making the mask way too tight.. When I got done, Eileen said something like, “You have serious waffle head”. I love you too, honey πŸ™‚ The rest of Tuesday was really good, for the most part. I even took my first nap. More rest than sleep, but it was good. Getting my head to “turn off” is darn near impossible. I’m constantly talking to God, either about my own situation or others. I enjoy it, but have started asking God to hit my “off” switch when it’s time to sleep. Pray for sleep.
Anyway, late last night I finally get back to the issue of freeing up some room under the mask. It’s finally time for a haircut. Now usually I cut my hair every week, mostly on Saturday. I don’t need to tell you that I cut it very short πŸ™‚ So, I head out to the garage where the shearing is done. Then I remember there is no way the normal attachment is going to work. I come back in and get Eileen to help me select one.

The red attachment on the left is “old faithful”. When I trim up it’s like the old flow-bee, everything gets cut to that size – head, beard, mustache, eyebrows πŸ™‚ I knew it wasn’t going to feel good when the vibrating clippers passed over the cut or surrounding tender area so I went big first and used the blue one. I may have gotten three hairs πŸ™‚

You can still see a few hairs on the purple attachment, which will be used now for quite a while. In Goldilocks, it’s baby bear’s stuff that was “just right”, but in Clipperlocks it’s mama attachment πŸ™‚ So how much did I cut?

Now it may not look like much, but that is a lot of hair! And look how dark it is. If you wonder what those specks are, that’s my fancy painted garage floor that you can see more about by clicking here. I thought the watch was a nice touch. The actual trimming along the incision, which Eileen had to do, wasn’t too bad. I’ll spare you a picture of the finished product, but it’s a decent hack job.

Today we experienced our first hiccup in the schedule. Just before we were leaving for the treatment we got a call from Amy (my 2nd and Sr in HS) that she was in the ditch. Fortunately she was ok and so was the car (I think). Eileen went to rescue Amy, I called the police, then I called a friend from church, Kirt Manuel, to drive me. Can you believe the tow charge just to put the car back on the road was $100!? Amy made it to school only to turn sick and require her mom to drive out and pick her up. Guess who is riding the bus to school in the morning? πŸ™‚

When I got there for treatment I didn’t see anyone so I peeked into the control room. All of them were sitting there waiting, so I got right in. I was done by 8:57, the earliest ever. And guess what? I could definitely tell the difference. The space under that mask was luxurious. Ok, I still had serious waffle head, but I could tell the haircut helped. Not kidding.

For the first time in a while my head hurt and bothered me quite a bit. It isn’t just pain, which is right about where the tumor was, it’s that it feels like a growth of some kind. I’m thinking it is probably just swelling. Shoveling the driveway twice back to back was probably not the best idea and could have contributed. Hey, we had a lot of snow and Eileen was getting Amy and had already done it twice herself! That said, I may retire the shovel. πŸ™‚

Spent time in the beginning of Mark (in the bible) today and I just love reading about Jesus healing people. Hebrews 13:8 says, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, and today, and forever.” That means the miracles of healing He performed then, He can still perform today. Believe it with me.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

