Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-07

I have heard from a few of you that you are not getting the pictures. First, just let me say if you aren’t then you are missing some of the best and funniest stuff. I still laugh just thinking about the toothpaste. Do me a favor and go to the blog. A blog is just a website. The same content in the update email is there on the blog – only the pictures are definitely visible. Here is the link https://wizidm.wordpress.com.

The pictures are probably really there in your email, it’s just that your email client has sized them to be zero by zero. I have no idea how to help you tell your email reader to resize it, but if you do the picture shows up. Just go to the blog if you don’t see pictures. Much easier.

It occurred to me after I sent my note yesterday that saying my haircut was “a decent hack job” might have confused many of you who probably thought, “It’s always been a hack job. How could it be decent?” Point taken. I hacked on the hack job. Better?

Had much better sleep last night. I was almost sad when I woke up at 5:15, realizing immediately that I couldn’t eat the peanut butter sandwich. Oh, no! The routine is broken. πŸ™‚ I really did want to eat it, but happily fell back asleep not long after.

The pain in my head has been worse these past two days. It’s bearable, but quite distracting. Ok, I admit it, I am just not a big fan of pain. It does remind me to pray more often and as a friend reminded me, “It means your alive.” Anyway, I wimped out today and took my very first Vicodin. It helped, but not as much as I had hoped. No wonder Brett was taking 4-5 at a time πŸ™‚

Went to meet with the neurosurgeon for the first time since the surgery. Had hoped to get a picture of Dr. Klopfenstein, but it turns out he was really sick and stayed home! The day before he wasn’t that well either, but had performed six surgeries. Incredible (but I am glad he was quite healthy when he cut on me).

Eileen wanted to know where the screws are so we covered that with Jan the nurse practitioner (picture below or here).

Jan the nurse practitioner

I know I joked about being able to feel the screws, but when I asked her if I could feel them she actually said maybe. NO! What we found out was that they cut out something like an oval (maybe it was a circle). I loved how she went to great pains to say and physically act out, “And they set that off to the side.” You have to know how squeamish I am to appreciate how much that just gives me the heebie jeebies. She said it several times. Thank you, Jan. Well, when they put that oval back on they have to attach it to the skull using small round titanium sheets of metal. These they screw in with 4 screws (give or take). I may have 12-16 screws up there. Yes, I’m sure, as someone mentioned to me tonight, that at least one of them is loose!

I had envisioned screws with big quarter inch heads πŸ™‚ In reality they are very small. Jan said to think eyeglass screws. I asked for one to take a picture, but they didn’t have one. and are probably cost $10,000 a piece πŸ™‚ Come to think of it I hope I have 20 or more and the price goes up.

Jan, Mike and Eileen had fun touching my head where the screws might be to see if they could feel them. Hey, I want everyone to be happy. But now I really do think that when I’m under that mask my point of pain is one of those screws – maybe because it’s loose!

Soaking prayer at church tonight was fantastic. By the time I leave I am feeling even more confident in what God is going to do and almost float out of there. At one point I asked my friend Tim to read Psalm 27 to me. I love verse 13 where David said, “I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.” Oh, yeah. But I had forgotten how appropriate earlier verses are, in particular verse 3, “Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.” That confidence is from God, but it may be just be the best description of my situation and how I feel.

Thank you all for your continued notes of encouragement. It may not seem like much, but it’s huge to me. It makes me feel like I have my own personal “Verizon” network with me every step of the way. Now that would be a cool picture. Someday.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

