Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-09

OK, I promise not to attempt to be “deep” today, but I appreciated the comments and emails I got back from yesterday.

I actually slept fairly well last night, in terms of hours, and it was nice not to have to get up and go put the mask on 🙂 A friend suggested something called Valerian and it may have helped. Thanks, Doug! You just have to avoid smelling it. It smells like rank feet. I’m not kidding.

This has been a hard day for a number of reasons. This is the third straight day of headaches, but definitely the worst I’ve had in a while. The pressure is on the right side from the back all the way to my eye. I hope it is swelling. It’s even putting pressure on my jaw. Hey, maybe it will fix the work that has been undone since my braces came off and my parents could still get their money’s worth 🙂

I decided to try to work through it and finally file papers in the office and get that better organized. Made some progress, but actually got pretty tired in the process. First side-effect? Possibly. I came downstairs and did a bit of email, but the headache was getting too much of my attention. I started to feel a bit anxious, which was very new and not fun. While Eileen, my in-laws and the girls went to the mall I tried to rest. I hoped to sleep, but the headache and anxiety made that impossible. A couple hours and lots of prayer later the anxiety had subsided a bit.

When the gang got home I suggested we play cards, Liverpool Rummy, and that helped a bit more. Notice how we’re all hiding our cards. We take our cards seriously 🙂

George and I battled for last, while Eileen was trouncing us all until the last hand, when her mom, Joan, beat her by 3 points! I’m blaming my loss on the fact that during one of my bathroom breaks Eileen let Kelly and Lauren take my turn. It’s their fault 🙂 I don’t like losing.

Please pray that these headaches go away and that they are just a result of swelling. I’d like to stay away from stronger pain meds, but the Tylenol isn’t doing much. Also, continue to pray for no side-effects, especially tiredness and anxiety. Lastly, I’ve been fighting the good fight against catching a cold Amy and Lauren have had, but I need some help.

Not all days will be good and I knew that up front, though this one has gotten better. God is good when things are great and He’s still good when they aren’t. I just become more dependent on Him and that’s good, too. I also know that my pain pales in comparison to many people who are battling cancer and health issues. I got a note from a friend yesterday about a 20 year old kid with cancer in his leg, lung and heart! He’s scared. I would be too.

“But I call to God, and the Lord saves me. Evening, morning and noon I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice.” Psalm 55:16-17

Who else could I call? Who else would be able to answer?

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-09”

  1. John Schmitt Says:

    Don,

    My family has been playing Liverpool Rummy for 30 some years. After my father-in-law paased away 6 years ago I build a LPR web site to publish the rules and a score sheet.

    I get pings from Google whenever someone mentions Liverpool Rummy in a blog or whatever, which led my to your blog.

    First of all, you seem to have a great attitude about your cancer and obviously have a supportive family. You are blessed! Keep up the hard work and be sure to punctuate it with laughter.

    The real reason I’m writing is I could see in the card playing picture that you guys need an “official” LPR score sheet. It won’t help you win but you’ll look good using it. You can go to the LPR site and download a PDF of the score sheet but I’d like to get you a nice bound pad of them.

    Here’s how we can do this: if you can tell me the address of the closest Kinko’s (or their store #) to your house, I’ll send them the file with printing/binding instructions. I’ll let you know when the pads are ready and you can swing by to pick them up. No cost. My pleasure.

    You can reach me at my work email or through http://www.liverpoolrummy.com.

    Best of luck, Don. Hope to hear from you. Keep playing LPR!

    John Schmitt

Leave a Reply

