Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-10

What a difference a day makes! No doubt because of all the prayers you guys have been praying. I only wish you could feel the difference for one minute so that you could know how much your prayers mean.

Even though last night ended very well, I was concerned (Oh, Don of little faith!) about how today would be. I slept fairly well and got close to six hours. After laying there for about an hour I got up at 7. I was really hungry. Breakfast is always a big protein shake, sometimes with lots of fruit, and either a big peanut butter and honey sandwich or a big egg, cheese and catchup sandwich. Oh, and course all my pills.

To make sure I take them when I should, my beautiful wife made a pretty chart for me, that I try to remember to check off. I’ll say, “Did I take my decadron this morning?” And of course she’ll say, “Did you check it off?” Now, really, would I be asking if I could just go see the checkmark. Come on!

Pretty, isn’t it? 🙂 I know many of you take WAY more pills, but this is plenty to confuse me. In my defense they aren’t all on there because I also am taking Zicam, Tylenol, (stinky) Valerian and Ambien.

After breakfast I listened to the rest of 1 Samuel on my new Macbook Pro (more on that in a minute), admittedly still wondering if the scary version of the headache would come back. At 9 I decided it was time to walk and though my head hurt during the first 10 minutes, when I was done walking the full 50 minutes (only 3 miles) I was feeling great!

This may be more info than you want to know, but I can now basically scrub my head with both hands to wash it and towel my noggin off pretty aggressively, as is my nature, without having it hurt much. It’s really healing. Hey, when I write, if the surface I’m writing on isn’t readable after the paper is removed, something is wrong 🙂 Eileen just shakes her head.

Church was great and you know what a people person I am, so I can’t see and talk to enough friends after the service.

My in-laws stuck around after lunch and we had a Liverpool rematch. This time there was no competition for last place. It was not common for me to lose this consistently before all this so I’m thinking the card playing lobe was nicked in the process. Please add that to your prayer list 🙂 KIDDING! Liverpool is luck anyway. If Mike and I start losing to Wendy and Eileen in euchre I will need prayer. 🙂

As I said earlier, some close, incredibly generous, amazing and loving friends surprised me and bought me a new Macbook Pro laptop. I’ve been waiting to migrate to it for a while. Moving from Windows to Mac is not trivial, especially visually impaired. But last night I did it. After I got Skype running I connected with my good friend Pat in CA and got a few tips from him. The built in video is amazing.

Skyping wth Todd

This is a shot of me video skyping with my good friend, Todd. It’s very nice to have the camera built in – yes, you can select whether you want it on or not 🙂

I grabbed the picture below to make sure those special friends could see that I really did have their amazing gift hooked up and working. I’m writing this entry on it and love it!

I had a bad day yesterday. Who knows, maybe I’ll have more in the future. I have a very long way to go. But with God holding me in the hollow of his hand and the army of prayer warriors, you guys, who are holding me up. I’m very encouraged and confident.

Tomorrow I go in for my weekly bloodwork to see what damage week two did. Pray that all cell counts: white, red and platelet are normal. I’ll get specific counts now that I have two weeks and will share the results so we can pray for specific numbers.

Job 9:1-12 is one of my favorite passages about God’s awesomeness. You should read the whole thing sometime, but I especially love this:

“He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted. When he passes me I cannot see him, when he goes by I cannot perceive him. If he snatches away, who can stop him? Who can say to him, ‘What are you doing?'” Job 9:10-12.

He can snatch this cancer away and no one can stop him!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

