Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-15

Thursday was a good day. The treatment in the morning was fast and painless. I got some good work done related to a new business venture, organized a lot of stuff in my office (and threw a lot of junk out), and then had coffee with my good friend Tim.

It’s only the second time I’ve had coffee since surgery. I thought I’d miss it more, since I would usually drink cups a day. Problem is, I can’t drink it black. I have to have pink stuff and creamer. Does the pink stuff give you cancer? I don’t know, but I’m avoiding it , which makes coffee gross again. Did you know that I was like the Apostle Paul before I started drinking coffee at 40? I persecuted coffee drinkers. šŸ™‚ I really did. I would hear someone say, “This is not really good coffee” and I would respond quickly, “How would you know? Isn’t that an oxymoron? Good, and coffee?” I know, pathetic. I’ve repented šŸ™‚ Anyway, I had a small, cold decafe coffee, one pink stuff and cream. I told Tim, “If it goes bad you can say you were there when I put the nail in” šŸ™‚ Poor attempt at dark humor.

As you know, with my poor eyesight, reading is difficult. So, I’ve been listening to The Bible Experience, which is the complete bible on CD recorded by people like Angela Bassett, Cuba Gooding, Jr. Samuel L. Jackson, Laurence Fishburne and a host of others. Here is a video of its making if you are interested. It’s unbelievable.

Quick typing and sight funny. I meant to type “bet”, but my message to the woman, with Eileen cc’ed on Valentine’s Day, said “I will be your husband…” I didn’t catch it, but Eileen did. Did you, Diana? šŸ™‚

Soaking prayer Thursday night was awesome. I joined others and we prayed for a woman who just found out that she has spots in her chest cavity that are either a “virus or cancer.” Don’t you just love how they put it to her? šŸ™‚ The women who were there from the prayer team are amazing. Both the woman we prayed for and I left on serious highs. The small headache I had, had disappeared and I slept really well last night. God is powerful. I loved this passage one of the prayer warriors prayed over us.

“Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Psalm 91:14-16

I told the radiation team about my blog yesterday and they read it (hi guys!). It was funny to hear the parts they liked and shouldn’t be a surprise that one was the story of me getting my mask made. Oh, yeah, that’s just hilarious šŸ™‚

I promised a picture of the Prostate Club guys, so here you go. Click on the pic for another view of the waiting rooms.

Prostate Club

They don’t wear a mask, but have many more treatments (45 and 35). I don’t want to follow in their footsteps when I’m that age. Hey, you can only be in so many clubs.

So when I said, a little over two weeks ago, “please remove ‘hair falling out’ from your no side effects prayer, did NONE of you realize I was kidding? Do you not understand sarcasm? Or did you just want a good laugh? Well, if you did, let me help you out.

It is easier to see in person, but right in the back of my head, a little to the left of the scar and over my right ear the hair fell out. Could it be the super hard scrubbing I did in the shower? Hey, better to go down the shower drain than shed like a dog, right? A late valentine gift, honey šŸ™‚ Amy (posing in the background) immediately said, “Dad, we need to shave it off now before it looks stupid.” I know, my moral support is amazing šŸ™‚

I keep telling you to be specific in your requests for me and I’ve shared passages where I think the bible makes this clear, but my friend Kim shared a verse with me today that I think makes it crystal clear. Jesus was asked by two blind men to have mercy on them and though the crowd told them to basically shut up, “Jesus stopped and called them, ‘What do you want me to do for you?'” (Matthew 20:32) Did he really not know what they wanted? šŸ™‚ Of course not. He wanted them to say it.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-15”

  1. Diana Says:

    I did catch your comment, Don. Started to send one back to you, but got busy entertaining my daughters. I understood what you meant, so no worries!

  2. Andrew Says:

    Hi Don —

    I had no idea that you had a brain tumor, left Sun, or had been contributing so substantially to this highly-inspirational blog (as opposed to so substantially to your highly-interesting IDM-centered blog).

    I wish you and your family all the best in your ongoing recovery.

    Andrew Shikiar

Leave a Reply

