Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-17

Well, I provided pictures of my hair falling out WAY too early πŸ™‚ I’m sure more can fall out (ok, not much more), but today was the big day of shedding. I scrubbed my head hard when I was in the shower and could tell some came out. Of course had I just looked down at the drain I would have known. Eileen told me later. Don’t laugh, but I have been blow drying my hair since it has been “long” because it is easier to get completely dry and I don’t want to go out with it wet. Anyway, it was actually blowing off my head πŸ™‚ Hilarious. So I started to rub it a bit with a towel. It filled Eileen’s sink. Everyone commented on how much more was gone before we went to church. After we got home Eileen said, “Wow! Where did the rest of the hair go?” πŸ™‚ I figured it might be in my hat, but there wasn’t much. She went upstairs to check the bathroom and next thing I hear she’s vacuuming! Including the pillow. That did it. It was time to trim it down the way I like it.

But first a picture of the “now it looks stupid” as my daughter Amy would say.

It isn’t crop circles, but what design pattern is God carving in my hair? I’ve been over pride about my “haircut” for a very long time, but even I didn’t want to go out of the house again looking like this πŸ™‚ Moments later I was in the garage with the clippers.

The bigger pictures on flickr are here and here. My big concern now is the fact that there is no hair to cushion me on the table with the mask tomorrow. I told my friend Kevin I might try to test my pain by laying it in a bowl or something, which he wanted a picture of, but a bowl isn’t the right shape. I have toyed with the idea of taking a pain pill beforehand, but how will I know if it really hurts? And I don’t want to do that every day. Monday’s are 15+ minutes instead of 11-12 because of X-rays, but it can’t be as bad as when they made it so I’ll just suck it up. I know, I’m a wimp when it comes to pain.

Tonight I take my 21st temodar (chemo) pill. It marks my halfway point for the chemo, at least the part related to the radiation treatments. Unfortunately there is a LOT more chemo in my future πŸ™‚ It also means I’ve used up $3000 of chemo. Talk about an expensive drug habit. So glad I’m not paying list price πŸ™‚

Today was another great day. The only issue I had was gastro and that too passed πŸ˜‰ Had a great walk this morning before church and put my Mac on the new stand George built for me, which was great. No pain days are just so much nicer, so I’m enjoying them and praising God for his goodness! If I could only get back to winning Liverpool. Before George and Alex headed home he won again. I love playing cards, so if you are in the area and want to play, bring it. Euchre, up an down the river, liverpool, canasta, hearts and yes, poker! πŸ™‚ Wendy, I’m especially looking forward to playing euchre with you πŸ™‚

We’re doing a series at church on Marriage Under Construction. The first two weeks Cal hit it out of the park, especially last week with “Laying a Secure Foundation” (click Message Player at http://nwoods.org). This week my buddy Tim did a great job talking about Marriage Communication. Did you know that communication is 55% body language,38% non-verbal and only 7% verbal! Honey, I forgot to tell you that I committed us to “communicating” for 20 minutes a day the next five days. Sorry I forgot to communicate it in person. Don’t you roll your eyes at me! πŸ™‚

Anyway, I had forgotten Tim had asked a number of us if we wanted to send a love note to be displayed on the screen during the last song. I sent in, “Eileen, You are the touch of Jesus in my life, Don.” I think Eileen liked it πŸ™‚ (and hope she keeps it in mind with the 20 minute thing)

I’m excited to see the results of my blood work (CBC) tomorrow. I’m betting my white cells are still pretty high, because this sinus thing isn’t totally gone, but I really feel good, so hopefully the other numbers will reflect that. Not that I will care one bit if they don’t. When Shadrach, Meshach and Abednigo were walking around inside the furnace with Jesus (in Daniel), do you think they cared what their clothes smelled like or just that they weren’t burnt to a crisp. Exactly how I feel πŸ™‚

Thank you all again for your continued prayers. You really are praying BIG and God is answering in kind. I’m living my life and things are going well, but my eyesight alone, with an occasional twinge in my head are fairly constant reminders that I’m in a battle. Not to mention the regime of pills, food, water and bathroom visits πŸ™‚ Your notes, calls and visits are important. Every one of them is read and consumed. They encourage me and make all the difference. You’ll hear me say this a lot, maybe mostly for me. It is going to be a long journey – stay with me.

“You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.” Isaiah 26:3 – I can vouch for it.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-17”

  1. Mat Hamlin Says:

    Don,

    I was very sad to hear about your brain cancer. The knot in my stomach seems to return often as my family prays BIG for you and your family.

    I just stumbled upon your blog again … after not visiting since last year sometime. I wasn’t surprised to see your smile in all the pictures. I can’t see you moping about anything. Keep it up, and let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

    2 Thessalonians 2:16,17 – “May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us, and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”

    Mat

  2. Brent Thurrell Says:

    Don,

    I don’t check in on you in a few months and look what happens!! I must say that the news came as a big shock to me – and is still sinking in as I sit here writing this. For the record – loving the haircut and with that scar – man you look mean πŸ™‚

    So, I’m not a religious guy, but I know you are and I want you to know that I am going to have a go saying some prayers for you in the hope that the big guy sits up and takes note and spins you that miracle πŸ˜‰ . Along with that, I want you to know that I have you and your family in my thoughts. Stay strong, stay positive my friend and beat this thing. I’m there with you.

    Brent

  3. Katie Seibel Says:

    Don, I am believing that our God is as you put it “BIG” !!! Jeremiah 29:11 is such a great reminder of His thoughts , and 2 Timothy 1:7 reminds us of what He gives us. I can tell you understand about asking God for spiritual “filling” as in Acts 2 : 42-47 , and I’m asking in faith for that incredible miracle for you knowing that He has no limitations !!!!!!!! I hope you will pray about that book we discussed, it would be an awesome blessing and witness to so many !! keeping you close in prayer, Keith and Katie Seibel

Leave a Reply

