Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-19

Can you say four great days in a row? OK, so the sleep last night was not great. I need more than five hours, but I felt like a million bucks (don’t I wish) on the treadmill this morning. Went a solid hour and a bit over 4 miles. Even used weights a few times, thanks to that new handy shelf George built for me. I may have to back off a bit tomorrow, but if I didn’t push it, it wouldn’t be the real me πŸ™‚

Listened to half of the book of Matthew. I especially enjoyed the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5-7, which I memorized years ago. It was pretty pathetic how little I could quote as Blair Underwood read Jesus’ words. Many verses in there I love, but a few always stand out. On worrying, he says, “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” We all know that! Then the very well known, “Ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the dor will be opened.” Oh, I’m asking, seeking and knocking HARD and I know you are too! πŸ™‚ The other thing that jumped out at me and has been is how Jesus healed EVERYONE. At every encounter, whether one, a few or many – he healed them ALL. ALL includes me and I’m taking that to the bank.

I just love my radiation treatment team friends. They are taking incredible care of me and they like my blog πŸ™‚ Yesterday they told me that the technician who merged my CT scan and my MRI to create the control program for the Trilogy machine wanted to be in it too. No problem! I tell them all that they are helping to save my life, but Micki, along with Dr. McGee of course, may be near the top of the list. No pressure, Micki! πŸ™‚ You can click on her picture to see a close up of the screen.

Micky and my radiation control map

This isn’t rocket science, but it is definitely brain surgery, kind of. She has to figure out where the radiation will hit and I think how it will richochet – YES there is stuff in there that will cause it to ricochet! Her son was with her, but she was more than happy to take the time to bring up my program. They had a tech support guy in there and bothshe and her co-worker were complaining about performance. πŸ™‚

Many of you have said there is no way you could handle the mask I have to wear. Well let me tell you – I have it easy. Check out what this guy has to wear! Can you say CLAUSTROPHOBIA?!

Can you say CLAUSTROPHOBIA?

I think even Houdini would be afraid of that thing.

It was a good day in terms of pain, but it seemed like everything I tried or touched had an issue. I was surprised that I got frustrated about little things. Not that I haven’t at all during this period, but it’s not common. It actually disappointed me, but I’m over it now. Guess I’m still quite human πŸ™‚ Here are a few examples. I had to call several vendors about home stuff. United Healthcare and after getting transferred I’d hear “If you’d like to make a call, please hang up.” Does that message even make sense. Why would I hang up the phone if I wanted to make a call. I blamed it on UHC and in fact when I called a more direct number the operator tried to transfer me and finally said, “Customer Service doesn’t appear to be available”. Great. Tried to get on through their website, had to request my password, but the site had technical problems and said, “Call Customer Service”. I told her not to worry, I was just dying from brain cancer and needed assistance – kidding! I made soup and while adding the can of water my headset hooked on a drawer handle and it ripped off my head and I spilled the can of water. Funny now, but not then. I tried to call UHC from the kitchen and the handset battery died. I forgot about the soup and it started boiling. Why wasn’t that funny then. It’s making me laugh now. πŸ™‚ Late afternoon I tried calling Comcast and again after a transfer got the “If you’d like to make a call, please hang up”. OK, so UHC had problems, but this sounds like an AT&T issue. So I call AT&T, say “Customer Service” to every prompt no matter what the guy says and finally get a real person. He checks my line and says, “Yep, you have problems”. You have no idea πŸ™‚ Yes, God, each day has enough trouble of its own. Sorry, enough whining.

No real pain all day, but I can feel my head and tonight it started to bug me. It’s weird because it isn’t a headache. It’s more a pressure from the inside, which I’m sure is swelling. A couple Tylenol help. Too much computer both yesterday and today starts to really bug my eyes. I love this Mac, but I need to take more breaks. The sinus thing is hanging around. No build up in my chest, which is great, but please pray it goes soon. Let’s just keep this between the thousand of us, give or take. The biggest health I’ve been facing in the past several weeks is constipation πŸ™‚ I was told the radiation and chemo would constipate. Then Dr. Geoffroy told me yesterday that the decadron is the big culprit. Swelling, painful head or gastro distress? What shall I choose. Don’t really have an option, but eventually it will pass. Pa-dum πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday, Mom! I called, but you must be out celebrating. See you for lunch tomorrow.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with thecomfort we ourselves have received from God”. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 God is definitely comforting me!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-19”

  1. Paul Mauschbaugh Says:

    Don:

    You have been in my thoughts and prayers since I found out about your situation. Your positive words, dedication to christ, and the smile on your face in these pictures are inspirational! As a young child I was very much influenced by my Grandpa Dudas. Grandpa died when I was in 8th grade, but his words and influence have stuck with me forever. He never cared about the outcomes of the activities I partitipated in … whether it was fishing, basketball, golf … whatever. All he cared about was HOW I approached it … if I did it with the right enthusiasm and character, the outcome did not matter and he would respond with “That’s the Spirit”. You clearly have the spirit!

    Best Regards,

    Paul Mauschbaugh

  2. Chuck Mortimore Says:

    Wow. 4 miles. I couldn’t do that when I was 18.

    Well done Don – keep it up!

Leave a Reply

