Don Bowen Update: 2008-02-26

Have you ever heard the expression, “Pride cometh before the fall”? It’s actually a verse in the bible and here is what it really says, “Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall.” (Proverbs 16:18) Pride has always been an issue for me, though for much of my life I was clueless. Fortunately, “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.” (Lamentations 3:22) – because I can handle a fall, and have, but destruction is pretty complete 🙂

I mention this because last night my friend John asked about the big mask I showed the other day. It not only covers the face, but also a good bit of the chest. I said I’d have problems with that, but, “I am really used to my mask and could stay under it for a long time.” Pride. When they put the mask on me this morning it was like the right side of my forehead was protruding two inches! The tightness was amazing. My neck felt very uncomfortable like it was on a sharp ridge. The total time with X-rays and normal treatment is at least 15 minutes and man was I ready to be done. Fall. Better than destruction. If you had any idea how many times I’ve learned this lesson. Something tells me there are more in my future 🙂

Did I mention that next to sleep, which is SO overrated :-), my next biggest problem lately is not being “regular”. I know I don’t look it, but I’m officially in my 70’s now and this is my new friend and hope:

New

Today was a good day, but I’m telling you the steroid (decadron) may help with swelling, but it brings on pain and a pressure on my right eye. I’m so glad that after my radiation I get to stop taking it. Steroids mess you up. My doctor told me that while on steroids your pituitary gland stops making steroids so you have to wean yourself. I’m on 2mg twice a day. After radiation I’ll do one day like that, then three days of 1mg twice a day and then three days of 1mg a day. Hopefully my pituitary gland will remember its job. I am also quite hopeful that normal sleep will return. Hey I haven’t experienced “roid rage” yet 🙂

Motivated to get financial aid filled out for Megan and Amy (FAFSA) I got the first pass of my taxes done today. I’m getting a refund, but it is less than I hoped. Not complaining and I’m sure many of you have felt the same way. I was gently reminded by God that I am paying no taxes now 🙂 Does He have this sense of humor with you?

This afternoon I got a visit from my good friends Paul Flach, Dieter Schuller and Fred Weichselbaum. Paul and Dieter work for Radiant Logic out of Downers Grove and Fred is changing jobs, but used to work with Paul at OctetString. They came all the way down to visit me and take me to see Bradley play SIU. Little did I know Paul was a Saluki and huge “dog” fan. We attended the SIU Alumni gathering at the Pere Marquette across from where the game is played. Dieter, you should be proud of how Paul saves the company money! Actually the “buffet” was awesome.

Dieter, Fred, me, Paul

I insisted we take the picture away from all the alumni signs. The server who I asked to take the picture was pretty funny. She insisted that Fred and I, both “vertically” challenged, stand on the second step up, not first, second. The fact that Paul and Dieter are seven feet tall doesn’t help 🙂 Bradley looked like they might pull it out, despite missing their star, but as Paul said, “live by the three, die by the three” and they lost. At one point Bradley had 31 points and I’m pretty sure 24 were three’s. It was a great time and I’m blessed to have good friends like this. Thanks, guys – you made the blog!

While brushing my teeth tonight I got a glimpse of myself in the mirror. Not something I do that often, which is good because what I saw scared me. The hair falling out is really no big deal, but see if you don’t agree that there is a bit too much resemblence to Robert DeNiro’s Taxi Driver in this look.

Too much DeNiro?

See how the sideburn bit the dust too? I’m going to have to keep an eye on this, but didn’t I do a nice job taking this picture by myself? UH-OH! Pride!

I spent some time listening to the last ten Psalms tonight and a few of the verses just really stood out. David wrote them, but they echo my heart completely.

“I cry to you, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.’ Listen to my cry, for I am in desperate need, rescue me from those who pursue me, for they are too strong for me. Set me free from my prison, that I may praise your name. Then the righteous will gather about me because of your goodness to me.” (Psalm 142:5-7)

“For your name’s sake, O Lord, preserve my life; in your righteousness, bring me out of trouble. In your unfailing love, silence my enemies; destroy all my foes, for I am your servant.” (Psalm 143:11-12)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

