Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-02

Sunday was indeed a much better day than Saturday from an energy perspective. Mike came by early and gave me a ride to church so that I could sing, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I only sang the congregational songs, but the gang could not have made me feel more welcome, especially since I was’t there for practice or the service on Saturday. Thanks, Justin, Rosie and Julie (and Dawn, Ben, and Harold)!

The three songs we did had very meaningful words and I get choked up pretty easily these days, but made it through pretty well. My daughter Kelly caught this pic while we were singing. If you look closely 1) it doesn’t look like there is any hair and 2) I appear to be sleeping, but I assure you neither were true:-)

Me on Stage at Northwoods Praising God

By the time the second service was over after noon I was a bit tired, but more just hungry. I’m planning to be in a Southern Gospel quartet again on Easter weekend and three straight services Sunday morning should be interesting. Of course I’ll be done with my treatments so that should make a huge difference.

Speaking of being done, I will be off my decadron a week from now and can’t wait for the potential improvement on a number of side-effects. I’m sitting here seeing very well this morning, like most mornings, but when I take the decacron the swelling returns and the pinch on my right eye makes vision harder and darker. Still very functional, but less than optimal.

I filled out my state taxes and wondered how bad you have to be to claim “legally blind”? I don’t think I want to know, but I am going for an eye test as soon as I can. When I took the field vision test the first time I was very conservative and it yielded a dark left side and bright right side. Meaning very poor left vision, but good right vision. Well, left isn’t really as bad is it showed, so this time I’ll be a bit more aggressive pressing the button πŸ™‚ Who knows maybe I’ll be approved for driving. I can just hear all of you gasping πŸ™‚ The last thing I want is my pride killing me or anyone else in a car. Somehow I was hoping not to have to make that sacrifice until I was in my 70-80’s, but then that’s how I felt about Metamucil too πŸ˜‰

Mike and I had a great talk with my friend, Tim, who has GBM and is 18 months ahead of me. Tim is part of my “team” and has made such a difference for me. Never pushy, but always helpful, he is one smart guy and always up on the latest, which helps a lot. The decision for next steps won’t be easy, but we did boil down some of the major topics, which include personalization, endorsement, location, treatment and cost. Duke wins right now on all but cost, but cost could be significant.

I was listening to 2 Corinthians again while napping and there were parts of this passage that really resonated with me.

We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.” 2 Corinthians 1:8-11

I only had a short time of “despairing of life” after the surgery, but the “beyond our ability”, relying on God, being delivered from “deadly peril”, how your prayers help and how many will give thanks – that’s my story exactly!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

