Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-06

Several of you have asked how I do this blog/update thing, so let me explain it. I write my blog, essentially just a web log of things I want to write about. Like a public diary. My friend Andy says only people that want attention or real help do it. Guilty as charged 🙂 So I write the update in my blog, then I publish it. Blogs are read in a couple of ways. Some people read them blog directly by going t the website, for me that’s https://wizidm.wordpress.com. Others, like most of my friends in the tech world, subscribe to the RSS (really simple syndication) feed and use an RSS reader from Google, Yahoo and a host of others. To subscribe to my RSS feed you would click on the small orange box on the top right side.

After I publish my blog entry I just copy it to an email, add the link at the top so people know where the blog is in case they want to see past updates they haven’t received by email, and send it.

I asked those of you who receive the update via email to click the link t my blog, but regretted it almost immediately. One because I didn’t really explain that clicking the link was all you had to do and more importantly the count doesn’t matter. There is a story in the old testament of David doing a census and realizing it was wrong after the fact (2 Samuel 24:10) . I felt the same way and it was another pride moment and counter to what both God and I want, which is “He must become greater; I must become less.” (John 3:30). First admit you have a problem 🙂

Sorry for the long tangent.

I had no pain during treatment yesterday, which was nice, but the pressure on both sides of my face throughout the day was pretty strong. I believe the decadron helped. I know, make up your mind, Don, does it help or hurt? I just don’t know. It hurts for sleeplessness and constipation for sure, but the swelling thing is a mystery to me. I totally changed my weaning plan, got their approval and will probably be taking it into next week. Met with Dr. McGee yesterday and he said the radiation effects could last several weeks. Please pray they don’t!

Now that the radiation is more focused on where the tumor is, guess what? My hair is growing. I’ll have a huge mane very soon.

My hair is growing back

I asked Dr. McGee if it was growing back because the radiation beam was now smaller. He just smiled for a few seconds and then said, “Probably just lucky”. Man of few words. The word luck is not in my vocabulary, unless someone else wins at cards 😉

I spent a couple hours in the afternoon with old friends from Caterpillar. Unlike my shorter meeting last week, we had an aproved camera and I gotpictures. It was great to reminisce and catch up on what they were doing. It is amazing to me that Cat has grown their revenue by 250% since I left in 2000. Impressive company and exciting to me that I have friends in so many of the areas making it happen. I’ll take knowing smart people over being smart every day. Click the photos to see names in my comments on flickr.

Group 1

My afternoon was a blur of phone calls. Some for work, some for home, some for health. It was good to keep busy because my head was hurting and facial bones were creaking – at least it felt like they were 🙂 Soaking prayer was excellent as always. Two women prayed for me most of the hour and I was soaked, as was Eileen and my family, daughters and extended. Despite head pain I left very encouraged. I’m healed or will be soon!

I can’t believe how hard it is for me to remember to take my pills when I’m supposed to. Eileen made me that fancy chart and I just forget to use it 😦 I think the only pills I haven’t forgotten are the anti-nausea and temodar. Even with all the pain I had I forgot the decadro. Sure indication of brain damage. OK, additional brain damage 🙂

I ran out of gas early in the evening and actually was in bed before 10:30, listening to Proverbs 7-18. Many verses in Proverbs 11 stood out.

“When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.” (Prov 11:2) I think humility is one of the characteristics I admire most, especially if a person could so justly be proud. It does make them seem very wise.

Lots of verses on deliverance, which get my immediate attention 🙂

“Wealth is worthless in the day of wrath, but righteousness delivers from death.” (Prov 11:4)

“The righteousness of the upright delivers them, but the unfaithful are trapped by evil desires.” (Prov 11:6)

“The righteous man is rescued from trouble, and it comes on the wicked instead.” (Prov 11:8)

“The truly righteous man attains life, but he who pursues evil goes to his death.” (Prov 11:19)

“Be sure of this: The wicked will not go unpunished, but those who are righteous will go free.” (Prov 11:21)

Of course none of this would mean much if our righteousness depended on us. But it doesn’t.

“This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” (Romans 3:22-24)

Thank you again for your continued notes of encouragement, calls and most of all praying for us. I hope that you get a glimpse of the incredible impact it is having when you read the update, but believe me when I say it is a glimpse. The full effect is much bigger so continue. God is doing amazing things and I think we’re seeing just the beginning.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

