Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-07

I AM DONE WITH MY RADIATION TREATMENT!!! I also don’t have to take temodar, at least for another 3 weeks! I had Eileen come in and video parts of this last treatment so you could experience it first hand. For those of you who get this via email, here is the video on YouTube.

God willing I will never have any more radiation. The Forest Park staff could not have been nicer and because I’ll be getting my MRIs done there I’ll still get to stop in and say hi every few months – and then every year, etc.!

I did get my mask as a souvenir. As Eileen reminded me, it wasn’t free. I haven’t decided where to put it, but I don’t think the mantel over the fireplace will get the nod of approval. In fact I’m thinking it will probably have to live in Packer-land in the office.

Spent a good bit of the afternoon working on replying to Duke’s request for information. I’m more impressed with Saint Francis than ever. This is the hospital where I had my surgery, MRIs and radiation treatment. I called Pathology for some of the information, including different kinds of slides taken from tissue. Alicia was more than happy to get what I needed and send it UPS – free! OK, would you be willing to let me get the information I still need from two other groups and put it in the same package so it’s all together? Sure. Wow! She transfers me to Medical Records and I get three more items from Alex. I ask him if he’d mind getting this to Pathology and he says no problem. I’ll call her and get her fax and fax it all over. Am I dealing with healthcare? I smile as I think how incredible God is to be making easy what I thought was going to be very difficult and even painful. You realize this is Him answering our prayers, right? This is NOT a coincidence and it is not normal. The last piece thing I need is to include my two MRIs, but my friend Kathy may have already created them and getting her to deliver them to Pathology will also be easy. God took care of that last week šŸ™‚

The last thing I needed which Saint Francis could not provide was a summary of my chemotherapy treatment and last three lab results. I called Poppy at Dr. Geoffroy’s office and the longest part of the phone call was me giving her the first line of the Duke address, which is: The Preston Robert Tisch Brain Tumor Center at Duke šŸ™‚ Oh, and there is no charge for them to send it either. This is good because EVERYTHING else I’ve gotten does cost. Let’s just say God had a reason for getting me home only two days after surgery šŸ™‚

My good friends Nate Owen, Phil Hunt and Clayton Donley, came from MI, Vancouver and SF, respectively, to visit me today. Clayton and Phil go back to my days building Caterpillar’s Global Directory. When I left to go to a startup, I hired both of them, Clayton from Motorola and Phil from Alcan. Our startup only lasted ten months, but our friendship will last forever. Clayton and Nate created a startup, OctetString, after ours failed and Phil joined them. In 2005 they sold it to Oracle. Phil and Clayton are still at Oracle, but Nate left even before the deal occurred and has since started his own company. These guys are some of the most brilliant I know. Don’t let their coming to visit me in Peoria fool you šŸ™‚

Me, Phil Hunt, Clayton Donley, Nate Owen

We covered every kind of technology you can imagine in the almost 3 hours we had dinner. We all learned things as stories of the startups, etc. were shared. Between the four of us we know a few people šŸ™‚ They aren’t leaving until around 2pm tomorrow and as Clayton reminded me, “I don’t know anyone else in Peoria”, so I’ll get more time with them tomorrow.

My friend Debbie sent me this verse a while ago and I spent time thinking about it today:

“But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.” Micah 7:7

He has heard me and He has heard you. I see it and feel it every single day. Thank you. Thaks, God!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

