Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-13

I’m definitely not missing the daily radiation treatments, but I was hoping the swelling and pain would disappear as a result. It hasn’t. I’ve had pain and decreased vision basically every day since last Friday. Sometimes Tylenol or pain pills help, but sometimes they don’t. Strangely ice helps. Yes, I broke down and bought a real ice bag, which is nice because it stays cold longer. In fact sometimes it’s too cold. The only negative is that it doesn’t balance on its own, so I have to hold it. I may have to come up with a way to attach it. An old tie? πŸ™‚

New Ice Bag

It’s challenging to work through the pain, which is really not that bad. Remember, I’m a wimp when it comes to pain. I think decreased vision, especially because it gets much darker as the pressure increases, impacts me more. The world just seems to close in and get smaller. I’ve been surprised to find myself at times staring blankly at the floor or wall for minutes, in a daze. I’m thinking, but I’m not sure what I’m thinking about. πŸ™‚ Very strange, but I’m catching myself and working through it. I hate to waste time like that.

I talked to Duke on Tuesday and they had gotten all of my medical records. Diane told me that they should be able to process them and let me know if they will take me on as a patient by Friday. Please pray that happens. Once that happens I can finalize when to have my MRI, currently scheduled for 3/21 and when I will visit Duke, which I hope is 3/31. It’s going to be an interesting next phase.

I got a great email from Drew, the Senior Writer at Fathead. He had endured chronic pain from kidney stones for two years! My pain is no where near that bad and hope it never is. He also liked my writing and wanted me to consider blogging for them. I was flattered. It’s funny that I enjoy writing this blog, because I generally hate writing stuff from scratch. I much prefer editing other’s writing, which is one of my few strengths. I think talking on the phone is the only other πŸ™‚ Anyway, is that cool that Fathead contacted me. What a cool name and company. The products are awesome too. I gave Drew permission to use my pictures of putting up Favre. I hope they use them. Who knows, maybe I will blog for them. It pays just what I’m making right now πŸ™‚

Speaking of Favre, Eileen and I watched the Favre retirement press conference. Wow. Very emotional. Not ashamed to admit it. I cried several times. He’s one of a kind. There will never be another Brett Favre. Humility is the most impressive personality trait, especially when you see it in someone like Brett. They asked him some pretty hard questions. One was why he was so loved, even outside the Green Bay nation. His answer was great. He hoped it was because he was like everyone else and that’s how they’d play if they could. He said people could also relate because things like death and cancer hit Brett Favre just like they do other people. Yep, it can hit anyone. My friend Eric got a surprise gift from his wife yesterday, an autographed Brett Favre football and I started thinking I should have bought one a while ago. It would be the bright spot in my investment portfolio πŸ™‚

Yesterday I had a close call on the treadmill and my first injury. I was listening to some praise music and really getting into it. I had actually closed my eyes, but had the sense to put my hands on the rails. More proof that I am brain damaged, I got caught up in the moment and raised my hands in the air as I literally cried out to the Lord – tears of joy – which almost became tears of pain and anguish πŸ™‚ Moments later my feet tripped up and I started falling. Somehow I caught myself. Moments later I thought, “Wow, my hand is really sweating”. I looked more closely and saw that I was bleeding all over. I guess I’m taking this being 70 really serious because I can’t remember when I trimmed my nails last. As a result my middle finger nail sliced my ring finger enough to bleed profusely πŸ™‚

Wounded!

Needless to say I cut my nails as soon as I could. It won’t surprise you that I’m an aggressive nail trimmer. Eileen always asks, “Did you draw blood?” πŸ™‚ It’s pretty amazing that I don’t because my eyesight doesn’t help any.

I just can’t recommend “The Bible Experience” more strongly. It is incredible. It really makes the bible come alive and I listen to much more than I would normally read in a setting. Today I listened to the first ten chapters of John. I’ve read John many times and still saw things today that were new. Some of my favorite stories and verses are in John, but I have always loved Peter’s response to Jesus when a number of his disciples left due to a hard teaching.

“You do not want to leave too, do you?” Jesus asked the Twelve. Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.” (John 6:67-69)

I also love hearing accounts of Jesus healing. You never see Jesus heal a cripple so they can limp better. Or heal a blind person so they partially see. He only heals one way – completely.

He replied, “Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!” (John 9:25)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-13”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Hi Don & Eileen

    Thanks for another great post. I’m having flashbacks to Eileen’s finger and a bagel…and some serious stitches. I did have an idea…why not put the rice bag on top of the ice pack? I just love that thing.

    Seriously, I was reminded of one of our kids from youth ministry days. He was completely blind since birth. I was amazed how he taught himself piano, walked the halls of his public high school freely, and could tell who entered the room by the smell of their deodorant (even the same brand smells different on different people he would say). We let him run sound and he would spend 6 hours running cables. He could pull the Beatles white album (dating ourselves, I know) out of a stack just by touchng the edge and tell you almost everything in your fridge. His other senses were way beyond the average. Add the Spirit to that mix and WOW. His braille bible series was not portable so we gave him a cassette series of the bible on tape. He ate it up.

    God is using you. Thanks for sharing each step.

    P.S. One of my (Caren’s) prize possessions is a personalized autographed football from Walter Payton. So I understand this Packer/Favre obsession.

Leave a Reply

