Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-20

I had a better attitude and perspective on my pain yesterday, but I can’t say it did anything to reduce it. I took pain pills all day and though I’m sure it helped reduce what would have been worse, it made me shaky and prevented me from being as productive as I’d like. I was tired and had little energy most of the day and I’m pretty sure that’s the drugs. I did have enough energy for cards with Mike when he stopped by on his way home from a meeting. I was in real pain and struggling to see, but would only claim that as an excuse for losing to Wendy, which just wouldn’t happen πŸ™‚ If my eyes do get any worse, Amy and her friend Jess, have a deck of cards that might help.

BIG Cards

Not sure if it was the drugs or not, but I believe I got close to 9 hours of sleep/rest yesterday . That hasn’t happened in a long time. When I woke this morning my head hurt a bit, but I was determined to walk and to avoid pain pills. I took some ibuprofen and had a pain-free walk. I’ve had pressure in my head and on my eye, limiting my vision, but the pain during the day has been almost non-existent. This afternoon I got really weak and had to lay down for a bit. I thought eating dinner would help, but it didn’t. I have a small case of the shakes tonight and I’m a bit surprised because I’ve avoided strong drugs.

Did I mention that I’m excited about going to visit Duke? πŸ™‚ Our best friends, Todd and Lisa Garber and Mike and Wendy Monahan, are going with us and that means a lot to me. They downplay the sacrifice, but I know better. You can’t ask for better friends. We’re going to have a great time, but please pray for safe travel and that I develop an exceptional relationship with Duke doctors and personnel. 40 MPG in our van would also be nice πŸ™‚

I was also able to move my MRI from this Friday to the 28th. This should allow more healing and hopefully better visibility into what is going on in my head, something scientists have wondered about for many years πŸ™‚

I got a bit of encouraging news from UnitedHealthcare yesterday. They assigned me a registered nurse, a while back, as an advocate and she is now actively working with UHC Care Coordination on GAP authorizations for all aspects of my treatment, including Duke. I’m hoping the result will be in-network coverage for everything. This has already been done for my neurosurgeon, the surgery at St. Francis and part of the radiation treatment. Pray with me that it happens for all of my radiation treatment, chemo treatment, MRIs at St. Francis and treatment at Duke. It will require supernatural intervention, which is great because there will be no doubt when it happens who did it πŸ™‚

I now have three daughters out of braces. Kelly got hers off the other day and all of them have great looking teeth. Of course being beautiful doesn’t hurt either πŸ™‚ Yes, I know they get that from Eileen, but thanks for pointing it out. I told our orthodontist when Megan first got her braces that usually when I put up that kind of money I get share certificates. I can’t remember if he laughed, but I wasn’t joking. It pales when compared to college. Weddings possibly, too, though I’m still working on how to get out of those. πŸ™‚

No Braces!

It’s too bad that one of the best weekends in sports, the first round of the NCAA Basketball Tournament, has to compete with Easter. I won’t see many of the games, since I’ll be singing at church on Saturday and Sunday. I’ll no doubt be better off as the 60-seconds I spent picking my brackets probably means I won’t do very well. Do you think picking Indiana to win it all was smart? πŸ™‚

Spent time listening to the end of Deuteronomy yesterday. It’s the end of Moses’ life and he is challenging the Israelites to obey God as they go over into the promised land. Here are two of my favorite passages, both of which promise long life as a result of obedience.

“This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.” (Deuteronomy 30:19-20)

“he said to them, ‘Take to heart all the words I have solemnly declared to you this day, so that you may command your children to obey carefully all the words of this law. They are not just idle words for youβ€”they are your life. By them you will live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to possess.'” (Deuteronomy 32:46-47)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-20”

  1. Janelle Robison Says:

    Dear Don,

    My son, Brad Diggs, told me about you and I have been following your Blog since it began. My husband, Charlie, had a glioblastoma multiform Grade IV when the tumor was found. Unfortunately his cancer was so far advanced that when the doctors operated to remove the tumor they could only remove about 3/4 of the mass. We lost him on July 27, 1997 and God took him home to be with Him. Having been through this traumatic situation, I can sympathize with all the things you talk about.

    But your faith in God has renewed my soul. I have been a Christian all my life but through your eyes I see God in a new light and I can only say thank you for your beautiful gift.

    My Charlie’s tumor was located in the Thalimus area of the brain, the doctor said that in essence it is the center of your being and makes you who you are. When Charlie woke up in recovery he didn’t know who he was and wanted to know who I was. I am so grateful that God spared you and your family, that the tumor was located in a different area of your brain. Being able to communicate about your self and to your loved ones is so very very important.

    I pray BIG for you and your family in every aspect of your journey. Miracles Do Happen and I ask God to heal you completely through and through. Be safe on your trip to Duke and may they have a miracle waiting for you!!!!!! I have experience that miracle of healing myself as I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer on 11/13/2004 and I have been cancer fee for almost 3 years. The prayer chain that Brad began for me went all around the world as I’m sure that your’s does.

    God Bless You and Keep You in His Heart Always.

    Janelle Diggs Robison

Leave a Reply

