Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-25

I want to say again to my Northwood’s Community Church family how loved you made me feel during the services on Saturday and Sunday. I know the clapping and cheering was for the entire quartet, which it should have been, but I wish I could describe with words how it made me feel. For at least a while you made me forget about how weak I felt, and the pain in my head. It’s fun to sing for you. Thanks!

The pain didn’t get much better the rest of Easter Sunday, but pain pills did help a bit. We went back to Monahan’s later that night because they live by Bradley and Megan’s break was officially over. We got to teach Kevin the game of Tick and he beat us. I was in pain when we got home, but determined to beat Kevin at cribbage. I didn’t and I think that put me at 1-4. Who invited this guy?

I had more pain Sunday during the night, but pain pills helped and I did get some sleep. I had a good walk later Monday morning, but it really zapped my energy. I played some more cribbage with Kevin and even had a rare win. I couldn’t do much during the afternoon and even had to crash for several hours. When I finally got up Kevin wanted to take us out to dinner and we wanted to introduce him to one of our favorite Peoria places, Avanti’s šŸ™‚

It was only six of us, me, Kevin, Kelly, Kelly’s friend Erica, Lauren (hiding) and Eileen, but I love seeing the look on the person’s face when they get the bill. Kevin couldn’t believe how inexpensive it was. It really is one of the best deals in town. Why do you think we love it? šŸ™‚ Kevin’s eyes were bigger than his stomach and he went for a second helping of the all-you-can-eat spaghetti, but couldn’t finish it.

Dinner at Avanti's with Kevin

When we got home, Eileen, Kevin, Lauren and I decided to watch “Facing the Giants”, which Kevin had never seen. What a great movie. Very moving and challenging. It was especially meaningful to me that afterwards Kevin wanted to pray for me and Eileen. We are facing a giant, but we know the giant-slayer and trust Him completely. Great movie if you haven’t seen it. Giving your best is something I know I need to do, but I can’t be reminded often enough.

After the movie I was ready for pain pills and ambien. I asked Kevin if he wanted to get in one more game of cribbage and he was up for it. Wonder why? I had my ambien right next to me and asked him how long he thought the game would take. We agreed about 20-30 minutes and I said I’d take the ambien soon. The funny guy he is, and remembering how I supposedly behaved Saturday night, he said, “Why don’t you go ahead and take it now.” This is my friend and he had already been trouncing me. Just for that I beat him.

I called my friend Rob in Raleigh and confirmed that they were ready and willing to put all six of us up next week when we visit Duke. I forgot to mention that they have to be willing to be in the blog, but they read this so I’m sure they know šŸ™‚ They are great friends and fantastic people. I can’t wait to see them and their kids, who have grown up a lot since I last saw them over seven years ago. Rob worked at Ford in Detroit when I talked him into coming to work for me at a startup in Baltimore. He and Kim still credit me with getting them back to their roots and now within minutes of both their parents. This is pretty amazing, since they are in Raleigh and I only “helped” get them to Baltimore. Oh, and the startup lasted only ten months! This is the kind of grace my friends routinely bestow on me and it’s pointless to argue šŸ™‚

I will definitely be at soaking prayer this Thursday night from 6-7pm and am inviting all of you to come join šŸ™‚ I’ll take all the prayer I can get, especially as the headaches have been worse these past two weeks. I have my MRI this Friday and will be taking two copies of the results with me to Duke for next week. I’ll send an updated prayer request list soon, but the MRI being “clean” is definitely one of them.

I haven’t made a final decision on whether to do part of the 14 hour drive on Saturday or not. If we do leave on Saturday we may stay in Louisville Saturday night. It would give us a much more reasonable drive on Sunday. Either way, there will be lots of game playing.

It’s spring break for our kids this week and the Garbers came over for a movie night. We had wanted to watch “August Rush”, but ended up watching “No Reservations”, which was pretty good. The flash on my camera really works because the room was totally dark.

Movie night with Bowens and Garbers

Only Kelly was willing to be in the picture. Lauren, Carolyn Garber and Daniel Garber are off to the left. Daniel took the picture.

I’ve been listening to Bill Johnson’s book “Dreaming with God” and loved what he shared about about Psalm 37:14, which says:

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

He said, and I think he’s right, that most of us think this means God will change your desires until you desire what He wants. Yes, in a relationship with Him we will be changed and transformed and want what He wants, but that isn’t what the verse means. Both there and in many other verses all over the new testament God is really telling us to ask – no limitations. That BIG enough for you?

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

