Don Bowen Update: 2008-03-28

Well, I wish I had MRI results to share with you, but I don’t. I’m sure I could have pushed more and gotten something, but I didn’t. We have two copies of the MRI results from today, but sadly I don’t know how to read them so I will have to wait until Monday. However, the good news is that the MRI was not painful at all, though as I promised I medicated myself before going πŸ™‚ Eileen had suggested that I ask them for a cushion for under my head and I told her, because I am an expert at this stuff now, that they couldn’t do that because they needed to have clear access to my entire head. When I went in this morning I saw a thin piece of cloth where my head was going to lay and so I astutely asked if I could have a cushion for my head. “Of course”, the technician said. What a difference. But let’s keep that to ourselves, ok? πŸ™‚

I wore my Brett Favre jersey because both he and my cancer have retired “permanently”. I’m clever like that, plus I want to look sharp when I’m out in public and green and gold suit me πŸ™‚ I do need to cut my hair tomorrow and get rid of my “De Niro” look, otherwise I’ll scare the Duke people to death and that would be bad.

I had claustrophobia before all this began, but I can tell you that this is a cakewalk compared to wearing my mask πŸ™‚ Click on either picture to see a larger version.

My pain wasn’t as bad as Wednesday, but it was and is worse than yesterday. I can’t imagine people that have real pain every day. I’m avoiding pain pills and just taking extra strength ibuprofen, but may break down soon. My pride has limits and when it comes to pain those limits are pretty low. πŸ™‚

I have to share a funny comment from my friend and partner David. When he first read my update from March 25th he was concerned to read: “I haven’t made a final decision on whether to do part of the 14 hour drive on Saturday or not.” For any of you that are a sharp as David, rest assured I will not be doing any of the driving.

Do keep praying for our trip to Duke, which begins tomorrow at 3pm, for our kids back at home, for incredible MRI results and for a treatment plan which is overseen by Duke, but facilitated here in Peoria. We’ll be on I-64 on Sunday so I was glad to hear they caught the shooter from the other day.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

I love those verses. Pray them for me for these next few days. I/we will need God’s wisdom.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

