Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-01

Anyone who knows me, knows I am a man of superlatives, but I don’t have words to describe the news we got today. I’m sorry it’s taken me this long to get the MRI results from Friday, but I just found out this afternoon and the wait was worth it. In the doctors words the MRI, “Could not look better!” I’m not even sure I heard all of the discussion right after he said that. Praise God! When He says He is “able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine” (Ephesians 3:20) – He isn’t kidding.

We got in to see Steve, the physician’s assistant a bit after 1pm, and he was fantastic. We were using all the chairs and he was happy to jump up on the patient table. He asked me lots of questions to determine how I was doing and then told me I was doing great. I described my head pains and aches and he called them “radiation hangover”, which would last about six weeks. Great news. Then he asked me if I knew the MRI results and I told him no, but I hoped they were good. He smiled and said, “Oh, they’re going to be good. Come with me and we’ll take a look at them.” So we followed him into an even smaller room and he proceeded to give us MRI reading 101. He was genuinely excited to show us and couldn’t have been more positive.

After looking at the MRI we talked about the next part of my treatment. Steve explained that I would be doing a minimum of 12 months of chemo and that use of other drugs would depend on how I reacted. For the next two months I’ll just be on temodar,which I take as a pill. They will do further tests on the unstained slides I had Saint Francis send them and depending on how they turn out I’ll either start other drugs earlier or wait and return to Duke after I have another MRI in two months.

The doctor we met with after Steve, Dr. Vredenburgh, just couldn’t have been nicer. I participated some in the conversation, but confess I was still processing the incredible results. Mike and Lisa asked lots of questions and the doctor was happy to answer all of them. It was impressive. You would have thought Mike and Lisa were medical professionals. I finally asked him what results we wanted from processing the unstained slides. Don’t ask me to explain it :-), but here is what I’d like you to pray:

– MGT of 0 (zero)

Positive EGR vIII

– Normal P-10

– UnitedHealthcare coverage for Avastin and Tarceva

We don’t know if I will need Avastin or Tarceva, but if I do I want to make sure they are covered.

I’m sure the doctors all think this is the result of radiation and chemo, but you and I know differently. This is the work of our incredibly amazing and mighty God because He loves us and loves to answer the prayers of His children . I can’t thank you enough for your constant petitions on my behalf. God is performing a miracle in my life. I believe God has healed me, but PLEASE continue to pray.

I will provide more details after I return home, have more network bandwidth and am a bit less emotional.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

10 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-01”

  1. Brandon Says:

    Great news!!! It great to hear the recovery is going so well.

  2. justin Says:

    Praise HIM!!! What more can we say…

  3. Elaine Burnell Says:

    What wonderful news………”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, PLANS TO GIVE YOU A HOPE AND A FUTURE!!!!!”–Jer 29:11

  4. Helmut Says:

    Party Time!

  5. Paul Mauschbaugh Says:

    Awesome news Don! Made my day!

  6. Sally McDowall Says:

    Hi Don,

    I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks now and have found it funny, inspiring and humbling. We met a couple of years ago when our family was visiting Pat and Karen in CA – you and Kevin came over for a barbecue, and you were amazed at how much steak our 3 year old daughter managed to eat! We all had a great evening – I hope you remember it too, although obviously in your current predicament I’ll understand and forgive you if you don’t :-).

    Anyway, just wanted you to know that we are thinking of you and your family over here in the UK. We’re really pleased that you’ve had such good news today.

    If you have time to drop us a line please do – I’ll email you some pics of the 3 year old who is now 6 and her little brother, who was a mere twinkle in his daddy’s eye when we last spoke!

  7. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    just assume we’re speaking in superlatives a lot right now! I know THIS would not be an April’s Fools joke despite your wonderful sense of humor. Thanks for the 30 minute or less reads…still love em, esp. today.

  8. Fred Weichselbaum Says:

    Don, I am so happy to hear this good news! Paul Flach called me yesterday after he spoke with you and the news made my day (his too). Your positive attitude and faith continues to be an inspiration to all of us who have the pleasure of knowing you.

  9. Tami Hagenauer Says:

    Don & Eileen!
    Woooo Hooo! That is such SUPER news! We will keep on praying for you faithfully.

  10. Kurt Weber Says:

    Hi Don,

    I’ve checked in on you from time to time but this will be my first comment for you – I hope it works.

    For reference, I am your brother-in-law Keith’s brother. We heard about your ordeal shortly before your surgery and have been thinking about you and sending positive thoughts your way. I am not normally a praying man but your faith displayed in your blog is amazing as is your smile in every photo. Having to face my third brain surgery in 6 years, I am not sure how you do it. My next and hopefully final round is April 16 in Pittsburgh.

    So I just wanted to let you know that you are an amazing young man and an inspiration to us all.

    I wish you all the best in your recovery.

    Kurt Weber
    Grayslake, IL

Leave a Reply

