Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-05

Phase Two of the battle has officially begun! I took my second day of temodar a little over an hour ago and so far so good. My stomach has been a bit upset at times the past few days, but that started before I began taking the temodar, so I think I may have a bug. I always pray that God will dissolve the temodar and send all of it to where he wants it in my brain and let none of it touch any other part of my body. I told that to my friend Thom and he said, “But it goes to your whole body, right?”, to which I replied, “Maybe” πŸ™‚

Thursday night on the way home from soaking prayer I told Eileen I thought I saw birds fly in front of our car. It was past dusk, but not quite dark. Like when a good comedian waits to deliver the punch line, there was a pause and then Eileen said, with a laugh, “You did see birds”. Phew! I thought I was losing it.

Friday I felt incredibly good and it was great. My head felt totally normal until dinner. I described the pain to Eileen as someone grabbing my head with huge hands and twisting in opposite directions with each hand. Not pleasant. The eye pain is like something huge is in my eye and sometimes like there is a string attached to the right side of the right eye and pulling hard. The great news is that it’s getting better and God always takes it away so I can sleep.

Eileen and I were thinking about seeing a movie on Friday night, but when I heard it was $9 now at one of the theatres I just decided I can rent, so we did πŸ™‚ We both love Jane Austen, so we got “Becoming Jane“, which is about her life. The BBC version of Pride and Prejudice is one of our very favorites. I need to get it on CD, since I’ve never read it.

Saturday was as good as Friday until we left for the wedding of our friend Mark, who is the son of our good friend’s John and Susie Chaney. What a great day for a wedding and Mark and Stephanie looked great.

We got to sit with friends Don and Cindy Leach, Ted and Sharon Pittenger and Pete and Wanda Hanssen.

It was no accident because I had just said to Eileen on Friday that we needed to find someone to help us eat better. Wanda is a dietitian and they are both passionate about eating right. There are no coincidences. It will be hard to stop being lazy about food preparation and eating, but worth it.

John and Susie looked young enough to be the bride and groom. It’s hard to have friends that look this good. I’m thinking of shaving my head now πŸ™‚

I love going to weddings, which is good for a man with four daughters. Stephanie’s dad was completely composed. I’ll be a blubbering idiot. Girls, I’m warning you now. Eloping is an option you may want to consider.

As I listened to Cal say, “In good times and bad” and “In sickness and in health”, I remembered back almost 24 years ago when Eileen and I shared our vows. In tears I thought about the fact that though Eileen agreed, she didn’t think her husband-to-be would develop serious brain cancer. Thank goodness she meant what she said.

Dad Update: My dad doesn’t find out about his biopsy until this Wednesday. As I told my mom, that’s just more time for people to pray. Thank you!

I’ve been listening to Psalms again and this passage stood out to me yesterday:

“Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked. For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.” (Psalm 84:10-12)
I trust Him completely and I am blessed. You do the math πŸ™‚

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-05”

  1. Courtenay Says:

    Don…….this is Stephen’s sister. I’ve met you a few times at his house. Just wanted to tell you that we are praying for you! As I read this entry, it brought tears to my eyes! Thank you for being a light that is shining for Christ through this adversity! It seems so many people in our life are being tested right now, and we praise God for those like you who are allowing “His power to be made perfect in our weakness.” You have been a testimony and encouragement to us. We’ll keep up the prayers for you!

Leave a Reply

