Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-14

Sunday was a pretty good day. I relaxed all afternoon and watched the Masters. Can’t remember the last time I watched that much golf. I really enjoyed it. I also enjoyed not having headaches until later in the evening.

Did anyone else see the CNBC special on American Airlines? It was both informative and disturbing. As a five year Executive Platinum member I watched with great interest. Why do we keep telling the bad guys how they can be even more effective? I just couldn’t believe that they talked about the impact of 911 in one breath and in the next shared how transported goods aren’t scanned and they just trust the shipper. Huh?! I was also amazed that someone actually has 31 million frequent flyer miles. He just can’t have a life.

Today was great until around noon. I had lunch with a friend, Mike, from way back and we enjoyed catching up on the past and present. He plays semi-pro football for a team in Bloomington so I’ll have to try to catch a game this year.

The headaches started around 1 and have been bad all day. I was surprised that even taking a stronger pain pill did nothing, other than make me a bit ill. I still think the cause is radiation, but I did wonder today if it could be talking. I was fine up to noon and didn’t do any talking. From noon on I was talking. I sure hope that isn’t it because as I’ve said, talking on the phone is the majority of my job and about the only thing I know how to do.

Please pray these headaches go away because I have practice tomorrow for this weekend and I’m singing “Hold Fast”. I’m sure the pain would lessen the chance of me cracking emotionally during the song, but I’d prefer choking up to grimacing 🙂

I’m scheduled to meet with my doctor at Duke on June 2 at 8am, so Eileen and I will fly in on Saturday, May 31 and return the evening of June 2. I guess my temodar cycles are not rigid so it won’t be an exact 28 day cycle. I know half of you can relate 🙂  We’ll probably drive to O’Hare. Pray that we can work out the flights.

Today I was listening to Jeremiah and was reminded of how much I like this passage:

“This is what the LORD says: ‘Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,’  declares the LORD.” (Jeremiah 9:23-24)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

