Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-16

Yesterday we had a visit from my sister Barb. She asked if she would make it into the blog and I was surprised at how excited she was when I told her, “of course.” Not sure how I overlooked getting pictures of my other three sisters, but part of it was because I didn’t have “pictures on the brain” back then πŸ™‚ Yes, I have four daughters and I had four sisters. Eileen is one of four girls too. Oh, and Brett Favre is number 4 πŸ™‚

We reminisced about a lot of stuff and my memory is even worse than I thought!

It was a really nice day here, but I was cold the entire day. Headache pain was minimal until I got to practice for the music this weekend. I was able to sing, and happy that doing so didn’t make it worse. It just didn’t make it better either.

My friend Tamara calls the stuff behind the scenes, like our practice, “making sausage.” So, this is what “making sausage” looks like on Tuesday nights before a weekend service.

There is plenty more “making sausage” time on Saturday before the Saturday night service and I actually enjoy that time more, though it’s all fun.

My next visit to Duke is after my second chemo cycle at the end of May. My appointment is on June 2nd, so Eileen and I will fly out this time. We’ll drive to Chicago and fly direct from there because trying to get connecting flights is just too hard.

I felt good this morning and actually did half of my walking outside. Man was it windy! I would have done it all outside, but I remembered I wasn’t supposed to be exposed to the sun very long and my head, by nature, is always quite exposed πŸ™‚

Shortly after I finished eating lunch the headaches started and today has been one of the worst days ever. I still have a headache as I write, but it is more bearable than it was. I would really struggle to function if I had to deal with this every day. It was bad enough that I called Duke and talked to Steve. I asked him if he thought it was being caused by swelling and whether taking decadron (yuck!) again would help. He said he didn’t know, but said there was only one way to find out. He asked how much I had left and I told him I had eight 1mg tablets. He told me to take four right away and then two more in the morning and call him at noon tomorrow. I totally forgot you need to take antacid and eat before you take the decadron. I remembered why pretty quickly 😦 Unfortunately it appears decadron isn’t having any impact, but maybe tomorrow things will improve. Singing this weekend will be a challenge, so please pray the headache stops.

I did have some great news this afternoon and it really encouraged me. I talked with UHC about Duke’s in-network status and my registered nurse told me that she saw two claims for my visit to Duke and both were covered in-network and each said, “Thank you for using an in-network provider”! Did I mention that UHC had previously told me Duke was definitely out-of-network? Hmmm, wonder how that happened? πŸ™‚

I’ve said this before, but even in pretty bad pain let me repeat it. God is good when things are good and he is STILL good when things are not good. Why does God not answer me immediately when I ask him to take away my headache? I don’t know. Read Psalms and you will hear David ask repeatedly why his cries to the Lord went unanswered. But read First and Second Samuel and you see that God did finally answer. Boy did he answer. I couldn’t agree more with what Peter said to Jesus:

“You do not want to leave too, do you?” Jesus asked the Twelve. Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.” (John 6:67-68)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-16”

  1. Angie Says:

    Hi Don! After Brian had radiation (this was 10 years ago), he had exorbitant amounts of swelling causing ALL KINDS of problems from seizures to headaches. The radiation turned out to be such a blessing from a prognosis standpoint, but it definitely had its shortcomings within the first year. He was on 16 mg of Decadron and swelled up from it (moon face and stretch marks as are a common side effect of Decadron), but it made his problems go away. The effects of the radiation were seen for 2 years always causing us turmoil when reviewing the scans, but always attacking more cancer cells since the radiation works gradually.

    Hope to see you sing on Sunday. I will be praying the Lord bless your time and your voice.

    SOOO Glad to hear Duke is covered! Praise the Lord!

    KEEP BELIEVING

Leave a Reply

