Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-22

Today was actually better. Not near as much pain as yesterday, which is nice, though what is there is pretty distracting. I traded lots of email with Duke today and I’m now up to 8mg of decadron daily. I’m hoping that doesn’t negatively impact my sleep, but Steve did recommend I take Benadryl with my ambien. I’m game.

Did any of you catch ABC World News with Charlie Gibson tonight? They had a story on Duke. There was a 32-year old man from St. Louis who had brain cancer and after his surgery they told him there was nothing they could do for him. he went to Duke and has been getting a vaccine they developed and he’s doing well. Amazing! I came upstairs and wrote all of them a note. Within two minutes one of the guys they mentioned, John Samson, had replied, “These notes make it all worthwhile.” I replied that I was trusting God, but confident He was using Duke to give me another 40 years. Two minutes later came another reply, “We’ll make that happen too!” That is EXACTLY why I chose these guys.

As I mentioned over a week ago, my dad does have prostate cancer. He is meeting with his doctor soon to decide what to do, but leaning toward surgery. They told him he needed to do something within two years. I would have been surprised at that, except for this. My father-in-law was told he had prostate cancer a few years ago. Two years later my mother-in-law found out about it. She had no idea because he had forgotten! πŸ™‚ Anyway, my dad is planning his surgery around his golf game. Hey, we all have our priorities πŸ™‚

Not to be outdone, my mom had cataract surgery today and it went well. I’m glad she did because the other day she asked me when I grew a beard. Oh, about 38 years ago! Get better, Mom, I’ll explain this scar on my head when I see you πŸ™‚

Amy came home and told us she was a candidate for Prom Queen. We were all very proud and happy for her. Wait, maybe not all of us. I guess Kelly’s comment was, “I don’t really want you to win because then you’ll just brag about it.” πŸ™‚

No walking today, but I did confirm, sadly, that I am terribly out of shape. Not sure if it’s the chemo, all the drugs or the lack of sleep, but doing 15 push-ups was way too hard. Oh, it could also be that I haven’t done anything for years. When I got married I was doing 500 a day. I won’t try to pretend I’m 26 again, but I am newly motivated.

I enjoyed listening through Psalm 70-79 today. My friend Gary had shared Psalm 71 with me last night and I really liked what it said:

“In you, O LORD, I have taken refuge; let me never be put to shame. Rescue me and deliver me in your righteousness; turn your ear to me and save me. Be my rock of refuge, to which I can always go; give the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress.”

When the pain causes me to lay down and hold my head and eyes, I go to His fortress and sit in the shadow of the Almighty.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

