Don Bowen Update: 2008-04-24

Well I think the increase to 4mg of decadron twice a day may be helping, though tonight hasn’t been great. so it’s hard to tell for sure. Yesterday was pretty good, pain was low and the eye pressure didn’t happen much. Today the pain was good until this evening. It feels like a vice grip and the pressure it puts on my eyes is painful enough that I frequently have to close and rub them. However, it is much better than piercing headaches!

The new thing this week has been weakness and shakiness. It varies throughout the day. I wouldn’t want to do surgery, but I can pretty safely cut apples and oranges – so far. Every once in a while the weakness forces me to lay down, which I don’t like.

Megan came by for a visit yesterday and we went for a long walk, which was nice. It was helpful, because the new route I’ve started to take outside crosses Allen Road, a busy street. When I walked it Tuesday I almost got hit because I forgot to account for my poor left vision. Don’t ask me how, but I did. It was my daughter’s turn to walk me across the busy street. She cut me some slack and didn’t say, “OK, Dad, give me your hand.” πŸ™‚

I had my 21 day blood work done today as part of my first chemo cycle. The counts looked pretty good and no one has called me to say there is an issue. I have my 28 day blood and liver work next Thursday and provided there are no issues I start taking my second round of temodar. Not excited about it, but that’s what I have to do.

Had another long call with UnitedHealthcare today and it went well. Tricia couldn’t have been more helpful and I got a number of the claims cleaned up. One of the big problems is that if they classify a provider as out -of-network and then later reclassify them in-network it messes up all the claims. Isn’t that why we have computers? πŸ™‚ It does help me keep my phone skills sharp.

Finally got to soaking prayer again tonight and it was very encouraging. The pain and weakness of this past week had somewhat imprisoned me at times and it made me very inward focused. Not only have I been more self-centered, but I wasn’t experiencing joy and that wasn’t helping others around me, especially Eileen. Even in the midst of this there are so many things to be thankful for, if I just look a bit harder.

“For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.” (Psalm 100:5)

“He must become greater; I must become less.” (John 3:30)

Thanks again for your consistent and faithful prayers. They make all the difference. I wouldn’t make it without them, so don’t stop.

Key prayer needs (besides complete healing and restored sight):

-Freedom from pain

-Sleep!

– No constipation

-Strength, and to lose this shakiness

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

