Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-03

I got my official MRI results back on Thursday and it is “stable”. There was further shrinkage of the area where the tumor was, so I’m very encouraged.

Thursday night we went to see Amy and Kelly in “Seussical” at Dunlap High School. It was good, but I was slow in figuring out that there were two worlds being described – the one with Horton and the Who world on the clover. Don’t ask. You’d have to see it.

Friday, after over three days of much lower pain, it came back and was pretty intense in the afternoon and evening. Not sure what it is, but we know it isn’t a tumor! šŸ™‚

Hanssen’s invited us out to their beautiful home for a SaladMaster demo/meal, which was just excellent, not to mention healthy. Click on the picture (as always) to see the whole set. We may have a demo at our house soon. None of us bought a set, but the one with no income wanted to. We did come home and throw out some teflon pans. I mean, once you’ve consumed most of the teflon its time to get new ones, right? šŸ™‚

Walking through their house is like a mini-African safari. The animal heads are very cool, but I loved the ostrich eggs. When you listen to their stories of growing up in Africa and then all the businesses they have run here since coming to Peoria in 1976, you can feel like a lazy bum. I heard that!

I had asked you to pray I could start my second cycle of temodar on Friday. It almost happened. At the last minute on Thursday I got a call from Duke and all tests had been faxed to them and they had actually faxed the temodar order to the mail order drug company. Unfortunately the mail order place didn’t call me until Friday, so I’ll start Monday. Once again God knew better and I’m actually glad to be holding off.

My blood work looked good and only my platelets are low, but not enough to delay this next cycle. I met with Dr. Geoffroy and he thought I was doing great. I finally asked him about flying and he said it should be no problem. No need for a space helmet. I can’t wait to fly to Austin to see all my friends, but I’m not sure I can do it before June, so my first flight will be to Duke on 5/31.

I’ve had shakiness in my right arm/hand for a while, but I’ve been a bit more shaky all over since walking late yesterday. For the first time I can’t put my socks on without sitting or leaning. Even Amy was alarmed when she noticed how much my hand shakes simply holding something. I’m not so sure it isn’t the trazadone, which I’m taking for “sleep” (and I use that term quite loosely) and am not yet sold on.

Speaking of walking, I’d like to walk more than every other day, but I need the rest to recover. My left heel is my biggest problem, but I just don’t want to see a doctor about it. I’m thinking a stationary bike may be in my future. Got one gathering dust you want to sell? I can supposedly drive now, but riding a bike outside scares me even more. We’ll see. When will it be warm enough? It was 54 degrees today and it’s MAY!

Had a great visit today from one of my best childhood friends Victor, who was in the area to see his Dad, and another high school friend Terry. Victor’s family and mine are like family and he and I go way back. I’m glad he has kept my secrets safe all these years. It was great to get time with both of them. I had not seen Terry (“Slick”) since high school. Vic, next time we reminisce more about things like the all night wrestling match, the golf course flag raid and “Vic, it!”. Thanks for driving over guys!

Quick funny. While walking through the hospital the other day with Eileen I said out loud for the first time, “I wish I was normal again.” It was actually backed by some real internal emotion that surprised me. Without missing a beat Eileen said, “You were never normal.” šŸ™‚ Well, then. Back to reality. That’s my wife and one of the things I absolutely love about her.

I’ve been reminding myself the past day, even during my bouts with pain (and a few other struggles), just how blessed I really am. Eating breakfast down at South Side Mission this morning and then showing my friends our beautiful home today was an even bigger reminder. I live an enchanted life and it is not a right or an entitlement, it is a gift from God.

“I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.” (Psalm 27:13)

All I have to do is look closely and I can see it right now.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

