Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-04

Our big news from yesterday was that Amy was crowned Dunlap High School 2008 Prom Queen. Eileen and I went for the coronation since we knew Amy was one of the five candidates.

We were really happy for her. You can click on the picture below to see the entire set of prom pictures.

Amy and two of her friends came home late and slept in our basement. She’s lucky I didn’t take a picture of them to post 🙂

I forgot to mention yesterday that after eating so healthy at Hanssen’s on Friday night I ate terribly. I even succumbed to eating a Krispy Kreme donut. Man was that good!

Hair update. You may remember near the end of my radiation treatment I thought maybe my hair was growing back. It isn’t, but I don’t care. I just have to keep doing my De Niro maintenance so I don’t look like a deranged taxi driver, though you’d think I would have gotten over looking funny a long time ago. Did I mention my pride issue? 🙂

My overall shakiness bothered me enough last night that I decided for the first time since my surgery in January to go without taking any kind of sleep aid. I slept in hour to hour and a half intervals and had some of the worst dreams, but I survived. I wasn’t any less shaky this morning, but this evening I’m doing a bit better. Maybe I’ll even start backing off the decadron this week.

It’s hard for me to believe, but before today it has been about five months since I’ve been to a movie. We went to see Iron Man and I worried that it wouldn’t be as good as advertised, but it was. We met our friends Todd and Diane Houseman at the concession stand and got to sit with them. After the movie we invited them back to our house for a quick picture to commemorate the occasion. What are we seeing next, guys?

I know Eileen said I was never normal, but I actually felt as normal as I have in a while when we were sitting in that movie theater. I can tell you this, we will be back to a movie in the very near future.  Possibly for Raiders. Thanks for the tickets, Tamara.

Well, I start my second chemo cycle tomorrow. The temodar should arrive sometime in the morning, but I don’t actually take it until around 9pm. I’m also going to be trying a different anti-nausea medicine called kytril, which hopefully lasts all day. Please pray that it does and that I experience no nausea during this round. God can protect me from side effects.

“The LORD watches over you — the LORD is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD will keep you from all harm — he will watch over your life; the LORD will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” (Psalm 121:5-8)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

