Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-14

On Monday I went to the library with Eileen and they had Pride and Prejudice for me, which I had requested a while back. I was hoping for CDs, but instead I got this:

It works, but is a pain to use. I’ve wanted to read this book for years and am finally doing it. Monday night I fell asleep listening to it and “meditated” on four chapters that I had to re-listen to today. I wanted it on CD so I could put it on my iPod. However, maybe God knew my iPod would fail me on Tuesday. At least I had something to listen to today.

I kept trying to reset my iPod today and it just wasn’t working, so I did the only thing I know to do with electronic equipment when it doesn’t respond. Smack it on the table. Worked like a charm. Will it fail again soon? Probably. Maybe Amy is tired of her new iPod and wants to give me another hand me down? She’s the only one with money. An iPod is now more essential to me than my cell phone.

I actually helped make dinner last night and really enjoyed it. I cut up all the potatoes and carrots, which we cooked on the grill. Me wielding a knife may not be the best idea, but I love cutting up food and didn’t draw any blood. After that I made a huge batch of Rice Krispie Treats. Hey, I didn’t say I was going to be the next Top Chef 🙂

Today I finally did walk two consecutive days. It would be good if I could do it everyday, but I’m not always up for it. If it wasn’t so important for my health, OK, my life, I wouldn’t be near as consistent, but it is, so I am 🙂 The weights I’ve been doing this past couple weeks will hopefully help me not kill myself when I golf this Saturday. We’ll see.

I got to have lunch today with my good friend Dan Ward. Dan and I worked together back at Caterpillar in 1997 when he was doing PKI (remember those days?) and I was building the Global Directory Service.

Dan went to Sun in 1998 and I joined in 2001. He’s still there and one of the hardest working people I know. Thanks for lunch, Dan!

My headaches have been a bit worse these past few days, though there are periods of relief, which make it easier to bear. The headaches concern me less than the sharp pains in my neck, which sometimes extend down my back. Today was my last day of taking decadron so if it continues to get worse over the next four to five days I’ll know I should probably go back on it. I can tell you now that I’ll have to be hurting pretty bad and pretty consistently because I hate that drug and it’s side effects.

Thanks for all the suggestions for addressing my being “full of crap” 🙂 Cheryl recommended Colace, Sara recommended herbdoc and Laura actually brought me some miralax, which I took and have already seen some results. Thanks!

Eileen and I are trying to get time to read the bible together and when we do we both enjoy it. We’ve been reading Psalms and just use the date to determine which ones. Today is the 14th so we did 14, 44, 74, 104 and 134. I really liked this part of Psalm 44:

“We have heard with our ears, O God; our fathers have told us what you did in their days, in days long ago. With your hand you drove out the nations and planted our fathers; you crushed the peoples and made our fathers flourish. It was not by their sword that they won the land, nor did their arm bring them victory;it was your right hand, your arm, and the light of your face, for you loved them. You are my King and my God, who decrees victories for Jacob. Through you we push back our enemies; through your name we trample our foes. I do not trust in my bow, my sword does not bring me victory; but you give us victory over our enemies, you put our adversaries to shame. In God we make our boast all day long, and we will praise your name forever.” (Psalm 44:1-8)

It’s all Him and it’s never been clearer to me than in these past four months. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

9 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-14”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Hey Don…take a look at this update:

    WEDNESDAY, MAY 14, 2008 11:11 PM, CDT
    Sorry we have not updated CaringBridge lately. Things have been so busy! I recently completed driving training with hand controls, so we got them installed in my Murano! We were able to use the money that many of yall raised for various expenses including getting my car modified so I can drive. Two of my physical therapists and I are going to participate in the Danskin triathlon and each complete a leg of the race. Of course I am doing the swimming part, so I have been training downtown in Deep Eddy pool. Last week I finished 9 hours of classes so I registered for 6 this summer. I also plan on doing a summer internship at my church that is a big time commitment. I feel that I can pass on what I have learned from this experience to students at Hill Country Bible Church. I am also so excited that all my friends came back from college, but it will be hard to balance work, therapy, school, and friends. My newest thing in therapy is that I walk on my knees with a super short walker. I try to do this every day when going short distances in the house. I go two days a week to therapy at St. Davids and the therapists have trained my parents to do therapy with me in the pool. The therapists have said they can see that my glutes have grown and they feel my quads kicking in more, especially when doing step exercises in the pool. Even though, the progress is slow, I am ecstatic that I am still getting nerve return. Thanks for praying and keep it up, its working. – from Betsy Helbing’s blog

    Betsy is writing her own blog entries now. Perhaps you’ve inspired her? Keep praying and know you are investing in the future of a 19 year old who is walking by faith “on her knees”.

  2. Jeff Says:

    Check out the following for resetting your iPod:

    http://www.apple.com/support/ipod/five_rs/

  3. twitter applications for mac Says:

    Needless to say I felt that it was something that I would take a little time
    to explain and more importantly give some insights
    into why it is so important to your business. It is also possible for users to conduct charitable and humanitarian works online.
    With the new advanced birdy adder pro you get awesome technical assistance.

  4. Alfred Says:

    The re charging can be done via the yard-long USB cable that you can plug to the computer, or faster asking for,
    I put it in the USB power adapter from of my own devices (Android smartphone, Amazon kindle, etc) along with continue deploying it wirelessly.
    G500s Laser Gaming Mouse packs a gaming grade laser for
    precise cursor control on a wide variety of surfaces
    and a hyper-fast dual-mode scroll wheel. Up to five profiles can be stored on the gameboard at once and macros can
    be created while actually gaming real time.

  5. Roberto Says:

    Though the levels look really simple, they are actually quite challenging.
    Caution: when a hole is made in a can, there may be metallic edges that
    can cut one’s mouth. The tables used for this unique drinking game can in fact be purchased commercially.

  6. Abdul Says:

    This is a unusual looking cooking lid is made of soft silicone.

    Couples only fool themselves if they think guests only care about the
    cake. If desired, embellish the cake pops with nuts, sprinkles or other decorations.

  7. radio deluxe some nights Says:

    But with Nexus Radio the only settings you have
    to worry about are where you want to save your files and
    what file type you want to save it as. So your personal, non-commercial, watercraft is exempt
    from a licensing requirement. So, a custom direct
    application and route tracking can make it easier to you cut fuel cost, save visit time and wholesome delivery.

  8. Amy Says:

    You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity each day. Vitamin B3 or also called as Niacin is important in weight loss because it is responsible for the regulation of thyroid hormones and also in sugar levels in the body. Do not be tempted to lose weight as quickly as you can, because a crash diet will have you eating less than a thousand calories a day slowing down your metabolism.

  9. http://netdiaries.blogspot.de/2007/10/2550.html?m=1 Says:

    It does appear, however, that hypnosis can help a person achieve his
    or her weight loss goals. Anyone who dares to make a closer inspection will find the underlying
    difference. Then leave it a while until your tummy lets you know that you’re hungry again before opting for a healthy snack.

Leave a Reply

