Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-20

Sunday the weather was nice for Amy’s graduation. It was actually a bit chilly in the stands as the wind was really blowing, but we had jackets on. There were TWELVE valedictorians! Fortunately not all of them gave a speech and a few did it together. My favorite by far was the two guys whose entire speech was names of movies. It was very clever.

We have two graduated from high school and only two more to go. I’m not anxious to rush it as we now have two in college. I have no idea how we will pay for it, but fortunately Amy will go to Illinois Community College her first semester. Her high school grades and ACT scores were not quite high enough for a scholarship, but if she gets good grades at ICC she can get scholarship dollars to attend Indiana Wesleyan University based on those instead, so that’s the plan.

I can’t believe no one has commented on the video I put on YouTube with me and my friend Dan in the golf cart. I thought it was hilarious, but I guess I’m alone. Here is the link again just in case you missed it the first time.

Yesterday I finally walked for the first time in five days! It’s the first time I’ve gone that long since I started walking back in January. I just can’t walk when my head hurts this bad and I feel this weak. I just had to suck it up yesterday and actually felt much better when I finished. Wish I could have done it again today, but the headache just wouldn’t go away. I don’t think doctors here or at Duke know what to do about this so I think I’m just going to have to deal with it. If I can learn how to work and function when I have the headache and weakness I should have a real advantage when they go away and I feel “normal”.

We are having Amy’s graduation party this Saturday. I just learned that no formal invitations are being sent out. So, I realize this is late notice, but please consider this your invitation to stop by. Most graduates have a party from 1-4 or 5-8 – not Amy. Her party is going from noon to midnight! So stop by and say hi.

Read Psalm 20 today and I really like it:

“May the LORD answer you when you are in distress; may the name of the God of Jacob protect you. May he send you help from the sanctuary and grant you support from Zion. May he remember all your sacrifices and accept your burnt offerings. May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed. We will shout for joy when you are victorious and will lift up our banners in the name of our God. May the LORD grant all your requests. Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed; he answers him from his holy heaven with the saving power of his right hand. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God. They are brought to their knees and fall, but we rise up and stand firm. O LORD, save the king! Answer us when we call!” (Psalm 20)

It’s true that I’ve had more weakness and pain than I would like, but God has been answering your prayers and mine. He has been protecting me and he will continue. Keep praying with me and these side effects will go away.

Here are some upcoming events to also pray about:

May 26 – Blood work for 2nd chemo cycle

May 28 – MRI

May 31 – Travel to Duke

June 2 – Blood work and meet with Dr. V at Duke

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

5 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-20”

  1. Angie Says:

    Don,

    Your daughter/family is so beautiful.

    You know, I would come around more if it weren’t for your awful header. It makes me cring to look up at that GB each time I come here. 😉

    KEEP BELIEVING

  2. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Of COURSE I loved the “driving” video! I laid out the challenge for Betsy, too. So hopefully, we’ll see a video of HER driving her Murano with her hands. Then we can see who really IS the better driver: the guy who can’t see or the girl who can’t walk. We still need to determine who has the better red hat (Santa’s Little Helbing or Rice Bag Don).

    I thought this might interest you if you haven’t already seen it (or even if you have):

    video: http://video.msn.com/?mkt=en-us&vid=5e04ab41-59bf-4e04-a20f-370ff286ed53&playlist=videoByTag:tag:Source_Nightly%20News:ns:MSNVideo_Top_Cat:mk:us:vs:0&from=MSNHP&tab=m18&GT1-42003

    website: http://baldyblog.freshblogs.co.uk/

  3. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    This is for Eileen…I keep forgetting to ask if “Magic” can still make a Whopper in less than 7 seconds?

  4. Pat Patterson Says:

    Ah – fixing the couch. If it weren’t for Mike’s luxuriant hairstyle I’d have thought that was you, Don, hunting for lost change 😀

  5. Pat Patterson Says:

    Oops – hit the wrong comment button – that was meant for the 5-23 update!

Leave a Reply

