Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-29

Did I mention that Amy planned for her graduation party to go from noon to midnight? She wasn’t kidding. I decided to turn in before midnight, but her friends, sisters, uncles and cousin went the distance. She got a lot of very nice gifts, but the biggest surprise was a very nice keyboard and stand.

We tried to get her to do a private concert, but she refused. The day was filled with games. Bocci, yard golf and Tripoli. We got a picture of my siblings and as many kids as we could find minus my sister Julie, who came by Monday.

We didn’t get a picture with Eileen’s siblings, but most of them were present when Amy opened her new keyboard, which can be played with headphones! 🙂

Eileen’s family stayed around Sunday and we celebrated our nephew Ben’s birthday and played more games. Monday was a pretty quiet day. My sister Julie and her family stopped by on their way back home and incredibly I did not grab a picture! The third time will be a charm.

Tuesday I had my blood work done and it looked pretty good. I had fewer highs and lows, but my white blood cell count was low for the first time. They will do it again next Monday at Duke and that is when they will decide whether I am healthy enough to start my third cycle of chemo.

Yesterday I had another MRI and this time I remembered to request a cushion 🙂 That made it much more bearable. I don’t know the results yet, but I’m hoping to get a CD copy in the morning, when I meet with Dr. Geoffroy, to take to Duke and it will include a report. Yes, I will peek, though Geoffroy should tell me what it says. I haven’t posted any MRI pics to date, but I might, provided things look good and maybe even if they don’t.

My pain hasn’t been too bad these past five to six days. My right eye has been hurting the most and when it does I just feel like closing my eyes, which makes doing anything a bit difficult. Fortunately it isn’t that often.

Last night we attended 8th grade graduation for Mike and Wendy’s son David. It was good to see Mike’s parents Vi and Terry, even though Vi is quite ill with cancer. They’ll stick around for Daniel’s high school graduation party tomorrow, so we’ll see them once more before they leave.

I’m still only walking every other day. I go for a bit over an hour, but by the time I’m done my feet actually hurt and it takes until that second day to recover. I probably just need to toughen my feet. Or maybe I need better shoes.

I’m looking forward to our trip to Duke. I have lots of questions for my doctor, but the biggest is about my treatment. I like the treatment regimen I’m on now. It appears to be working and taking chemo orally and not having to be stuck with a needle is definitely preferred. However, I chose Duke because they are more aggressive. When I first went out they said they were going to analyze my unstained slides and see if a more aggressive treatment plan would be better. I’ve never gotten an answer on that and hope to on this visit.

I’ll be on a plane again, my first since December 2007, but I am a bit nervous. If my head starts hurting there isn’t much I can do about it. Fortunately it’s a short trip. I won’t be flying first class, which is a bummer. You get used to that. However, my executive platinum status will allow us to avoid any charges for luggage, not that we need a lot going for only two days 🙂

I know this video has been around for a while, but I just watched it for the first time myself the other day and had to share it. It is worth the eight minutes, especially from the 3 minute mark when he talks about laminin, the protein molecule. Amazing.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

