Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-31

Can you believe May is ending and we are starting June? Amazing how time flies when you are trying to survive 🙂 But that ends today. Thanks to all of you I am doing more than surviving. I’m doing fantastic and hope to start better reflecting it in my demeanor. I’m not sure if it is the chemo and my tiredness or what, but I’ve been in a kind of a funk for at least a week. My guess is that this is not too uncommon, but I only get to live in my own skin, so I’m not sure. Megan asked me last night if everything was ok and I said yes, but I can see why she asked. She said “You’ve been really quiet since I got home from school.” Truth is I’ve been quiet longer than that. I’ve been acting like a thermometer and not a thermostat, which is what God made me to be.

We leave for O’Hare and our flight to Raleigh/Duke in about an hour. So glad the weather is much better, though I think that is only true of Chicago and not so true of Raleigh. The weather out there is WARM. High 80’s to 90! We actually turned on our air last night for the first time. I could feel the energy bill growing, but it would have been tough to sleep.

I got my MRI results yesterday during my meeting with Dr. Geoffroy. He said the MRI was “stable”, which as I’ve said is their code for “it’s ok.” I actually have a copy of the MRI and the associated report so I read it myself, but had to stop. They essentially don’t know what it really shows. It could be any one of a number of things including necrosis (dead stuff), tumor cavity (from the removal) and cancer. Whatever it is it is no more “enhanced” than it was last time and this is good. I tried to get Dr. Geoffroy to be more encouraging, but it didn’t work. He said, “It won’t stay that way for long. It never does. Eventually it will do something. Get better or worse.” Gee, thanks 🙂

This is the very nice looking CD they gave me to give Duke. Much fancier than in the past. However, it may be to make up for the gray-scale images that are on it, instead of color ones I’ve seen in the past.

$2500 just doesn’t buy you what it did two months ago 🙂 I can see my eyes and my nose. Don’t ask me what any of the other stuff is, but a brain is in there somewhere.

I hope this can be my mantra every day:

“This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

Pray that it will. Every day is a gift. I don’t want to live it like it will be the last, just live it like it is precious, which it is.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-05-31”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Hi 80’s to 90’s? Try near 100 lately down here in Austin – we love it. Each day is truly a masterpiece! Thanks for the update, pics and all. Know we’re still praying.

Leave a Reply

