Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-11

After I got home Friday night I rested a bit and when I got up it felt like someone had poured molasses in all my limbs. I was moving VERY slow, but it did get a bit better.

My good friends Tamara and Leslie were supposed to arrive from Austin and San Jose, respectively, around 6pm Friday night, but unfortunately they got nailed by the weather. As a result they had to take the fun four hour bus ride and didn’t get here until around 11:30pm! It was great to see them. On Saturday I took them to Le Peep for brunch. Actually they took me. In the afternoon we took a walk around our neighborhood, more for my exercise than anything. Saturday night we all went to Avanti’s for Italian food and then to my favorite, Dairy Queen.

To be honest it was about the only thing I could eat. I took Kytril during my last cycle and wanted to take it again, but the Duke physicians assistant I met with said that Zofran was better for CPT-11 and Avastin. Turns out she was wrong and I suffered for it. My nausea was worse this time than during my first cycle.

Leslie is newly remarried, but Tamara is quite available, not to mention cute, smart, funny and one of the nicest people I know.

On Sunday they came to church with us and I actually got to sing during that service, which was pretty cool. They enjoyed the singing and Tamara kept asking if the message was targeted at her. Haven’t we all felt like that many times? 🙂 After church, they treated Eileen and I to Panera, where I forced down most of a tuna sandwich, but it wasn’t easy.

The weather was making their flights home look questionable, but I just had to rest. Felt like a bad host, but couldn’t help it. Fortunately I have a charming wife and understanding friends. When I finally got up it was clear neither of them were going home until Monday. But there are no coincidences.

On Friday night Amy lost her wallet. I wouldn’t have been quite as concerned had it not contained our credit card. She called Willow Knolls and asked them to look. They did and said it was no where to be found. On Saturday Eileen called them three times and was assured each time that the theaters had been cleaned and no wallet was found. She even went there and scoured the parking lot. No wallet. Well, because Tamara and Leslie were staying over another night we decided to take in a movie, Kung Fu Panda, which was OK. Anyway, after the movie Eileen took Kelly, who just happened to have been with Amy Friday night and also just happened to be with us that night (the only one of our kids), to look in the theater where the wallet was lost. There was a movie playing in there and it was dark. I couldn’t believe she was going to do this. I should say, for the record, I had not prayed about this wallet even once. Eileen on the other hand had been praying about it all day. So Eileen gets Kelly to tell her what row they were in and even though Kelly said Amy was sitting in the second seat Eileen puts her hand, in the dark, under the first seat and reaches for the floor only to have her hand land on a sticky, buttery wallet. Is that amazing? Nothing was missing.

Monday I still had a headache and nausea, but Tamara and Leslie entertained themselves. They finally left for the airport around 12:30 amid hugs and tears, but neither made it home early. Traveling to Peoria through Chicago, and sometimes even Dallas, is a royal pain. You can only ask really good friends to attempt it 🙂

Monday night the nausea was bad enough that I called the Duke doctor on call to get them to prescribe Kytril. I actually got some, but chasing nausea just doesn’t work. Once you are nauseous getting rid of it is hard, maybe impossible.

Tuesday I was in bed almost the entire day. Very nauseous and my headache got worse into the evening. Fortunately last night was my last day of Temodar for this month. I’m hoping to have an appetite again in the next few days. Not sure when these headaches are going to go away. I’m asking Duke if we should do a spinal MRI, but haven’t heard back from them yet.

Enduring pain and discomfort is hard. At least for me. sometimes I think I do ok and then just a short while later I’m feeling pretty wimpy. I’m realizing that this may be my lot in life for a while, maybe a long while. I have moments where I don’t know if I will make it, but then I hear His quiet voice telling me. “I know. I know what this is like and I’m right here.” I wish He would just heal me completely and remove all the discomfort and pain, but I don’t stop believing because He doesn’t. I just keep praying and trusting. When I think it is hard for me, I also am reminded of how hard this is on Eileen. She has to take care of everything AND watch her husband suffer AND be a pain in the butt.

“An excellent wife who can find. Her worth is far above jewels.” (Proverbs 31:10)

“Cast all your cares upon Him for He cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-11”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    “When I think it is hard for me, I also am reminded of how hard this is on Eileen. She has to take care of everything AND watch her husband suffer AND be a pain in the butt.”

    I’m a little unclear on this pain in the butt thing…is it “watch her husband suffer and HER HUSBAND be a pain in the butt” or “take care of everything AND BE a pain in the butt?”

    From what I remember about “Magic” it certainly wouldn’t be HER being the pain in the butt; yet again, she wouldn’t marry a pain in the butt either.

    I’m just so confused.

    P.S. I thought she was also that “lily amongst the thorns” or at least I believe I remember her ring spouting that verse. (SS 2:2?)

  2. Don Bowen Update: 2008-11-03 « Wizard of IdM’s Weblog Says:

    […] Sunday several family members and my Austin friends accompanied us to church. I knew how committed my friend Andy is to our friendship when he showed up (’proving’ our commitment is a running joke between us). It wasn’t too bad, was it, Andy?  During his message Cal said, “Unbelievable!” and I heard Tamara laugh out loud. Afterwards we enjoyed having everyone over for birthday party leftovers. Poor Tamara is now 2 for 2 in not making it back home on time. Her flight, and Kevin’s, was canceled again. So, for the second time we made the best of it and went to dinner and a movie, though this time we didn’t have to find Amy’s wallet. […]

Leave a Reply

