Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-22

I forgot to tell about a teaching moment that happened when we went out for my Father’s Day lunch to Olive Garden. The bill came back at $25, but my spaghetti was half that so I knew it was wrong. A nameless daughter wanted me to just consider it a “good deal”, but I insisted we’d be stealing since we knew. Another daughter said, “Good job, Dad”. That was my favorite part of Father’s Day.

This was one of my better work weeks, mostly because I felt pretty good. The nausea from my first chemo IV lasted almost the full two weeks. I’m hoping the Kytril, and the fact that I don’t have to take Temodar this time, makes the nausea go away sooner. Thursday I walked for the fourth straight day and felt pretty good.

I think we decided Friday that being admitted to the hospital may be the way to go. Having my own private room is a real advantage. I can work, have as many guests as I want and get free lunch and most importantly free wireless internet 🙂

Here I am on a conference call using SkypeOut. I also got visits from our friends Kneers (below) and Lisa, but she didn’t want to be in the picture.

We got out almost 2 hours faster this time, but it still took forever waiting for the pharmacy to get the drugs up to us. Just like two weeks ago, I felt pretty good when I left, but just a few hours later I felt like someone had filled my body with concrete. Very weird feeling.

Garber’s invited us out for dinner Friday night and though I didn’t have much of an appetite, Lisa made homemade cherry cobler with fresh cherries right off their tree.

Here is Todd de-pitting cherries. He got help from others, including Wendy. While eating my cobbler I bit down on a pit, luckily without shattering any teeth. Wendy says, “Oh, you must have found the pit that got away from me. Many of you have worried about Wendy, but as you can see she can take care of herself. The cobbler was awesome, Lisa!

I got to do another boyfriend interview last Wednesday night. Josh came by and we had a good chat. I’m getting better and better at this. I actually enjoyed it and I think Josh did too. I’m positive he understands what I expect. I’ll be in top form for Kelly and Lauren’s boyfriends 🙂

Saturday I forced myself to eat, but it was hard because of the nausea. It got a bit better later and hasn’t been too bad most of today. My stomach does feel like its on fire, but I can deal with that.

We got up and sent Lauren off to camp this morning. She was very excited and is going with many of her friends from school and church. We’ll miss her, but probably survive 🙂

My headaches have been very minimal for the past four days, which has been excellent. The only warning sign from my bloodwork that could have prevented me from getting treatment this week was an elevated ALT enzyme count in my liver. If you damage your liver, which is where all drugs get processed, you are essentially done. so I don’t want that 🙂 Anyway, I asked if there was anything I could do to reduce it and was told reduce my Tylenol intake. So I’m going cold turkey and clearly God has been answering your prayers. Truly amazing!

My hair is actually growing back. At first I thought I was seeing things, but Eileen confirmed that it truly is growing. I wasn’t worried about it, but my Robert De Niro “Taxi” look may be a thing of the past.

Eileen and I went to see Get Smart this afternoon and I have to say it was not bad. Steve Carrell is a funny guy. A Get Smart 2 could actually be just as good.

I’m going back to my hometown of Macomb for Heritage Days this next weekend and am really looking forward to seeing many classmates who I haven’t seen for a very long time. It’s my off weekend for treatment so I’m hoping to feel pretty good.

In two weeks I’ll be getting interviewed on stage at Northwoods and also be singing, so I could really use your prayers, especially since I’ll be on Temodar as well.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Phil 4:13)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-22”

  1. Dyekeekneali Says:

    Thanks !

Leave a Reply

