Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-24

I felt as good Monday as I did on Sunday. My folks were here so Dad could prep for his prostate surgery early on Tuesday morning. Mom and I got to take a walk together yesterday . We both have to be careful to pick our feet up and not trip, so we “bonded” over that 🙂 I even walked a second time later in the day, which tells you how good I felt.

5:15am this morning came way too early, especially since I kept getting up all night. Eileen and I went with my parents to get dad admitted and into surgery. Unfortunately my dad has an even worse reaction to needles than I do. It is called vasovagal syndrome. In his words, “..when they inserted the IV my body said it wanted to avoid the surgery completely and tried to leave the room without letting me know or participate.” He’s almost as funny as me 😉 Actually, I got to witness him try to pull this magic act years ago and it is zero fun for the audience. I remember asking the male nurse, as his blood pressure was at 19, “Is he going to be ok”? I was seriously concerned, but he said, “Yeah, he’ll be fine.” A few minutes later after dad started to revive I looked at the nurse and said, “Good job. I thought we were going to lose him.”, to which he replied, “So did I”. What!? Anyway, Eileen was in the room today with my mom when it happened again. She came down and got me and dad was doing much better and game for a picture 🙂

On the negative side we Bowen men hate hospitals, doesn’t matter if we’re visitors or patients. On the plus side it is strong motivation to avoid them. The cardiologist came a while later and told dad he could have had the surgery, so we get to do all of this again sometime very soon. Maybe we’ll be in on the same day.

I’ve really been nauseous today and have struggled to eat. My friend and former co-worker, Troy Reichert, came down for a business meeting with Cat so we got lunch and snuck in a quick game of cribbage. He is clearly the better and more seasoned player, but I’m luckier (except when I play Wendy and my skill takes over) and came back to win right at the end.

We rarely have this much activity around our place in one day, but a few hours after Troy left our very good friend, Eileen’s former roommate and the Maid of Honor at our wedding, Kathy Pinney, arrived for a short overnight visit. She and Jay, her husband, and three kids live in Montreal.

Kathy is a key reason why Eileen became a Christian in college. She is also why Eileen came to Western where she got to meet the man of her dreams. Hey! Don’t say, “Who was that.” It’s not funny. Thanks for letting her come down by herself without the kids, Jay! Really appreciate you making me look bad like that.

I didn’t get to do any walking today, but given how my stomach felt I don’t feel too bad. I’ll get back to it tomorrow.

Several of you asked exactly when I would be interviewed at Northwoods. I thought I said, but I didn’t. I really must be losing it. Tim is going to interview me on Saturday, July 5th at the 6pm service and again on Sunday, July 6th at the 9am and 11am services. I am singing as well, but I don’t think I’m doing a solo. Please pray that I feel well, though I’m determined enough that I’d have to be very sick. I think Tim is coming over to our house tomorrow to videotape a backup. It’s always nice when your pastor is such a strong man of faith, isn’t it? 🙂 One of the questions might be, “What the gift in this journey to you?” I won’t spoil it for you, but it wasn’t the free plastic bottle to pee in.

I share frequently about my failings as a husband, father and person. Believe me, it’s not because I think anyone has forgotten. It’s more to share that even my resolve to walk closely with God since finding out I have brain cancer just isn’t enough. Fortunately our God not only forgives, He chooses to forget. Amazing.

“as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.” (Psalm 103:12)

“Then he adds: ‘Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more.'” (Hebrews 10:17)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-24”

  1. Keely Wahl Says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog, although we have never met. I am Mark Wahl’s wife. Your sense of humor through this trial is very inspiring!

    I have to laugh about your family’s needle issues, as I am also this way. I had to get some blood drawn a couple of weeks ago. The nurse commented that I had birthed two children, I should be used to needles by now. “Ha!” I said. 🙂 I didn’t have my babies in a hospital–one at a birthing center and one at home–so no needles! I’ll take pain over a needle any day!

  2. Elijah Elkins Says:

    You have a very good sense of humor, and I have been praying for you quite a bit and so have a lot of other people. Amy told me about your situation, so I put ya on every prayer list I knew of 🙂 Also, I’m sure you know this, but your situation can be a gift from God because of all the new people it allows you to “connect” with. People that wouldn’t listen to your testimony before because you were an “outsider” to the world of cancer now might. Romans 8:28, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”… O by the way, my name’s Elijah Elkins. I’m a sophomore at IWU, and I’m double majoring in International and Community Development and Intercultural Studies. I hope to work in missions when I get out of college… Stay strong and keep trusting God brother. He will never fail you. I know God can, if He isn’t already, use you to do amazing things from the place you are right now in your life. Peace, love, and God bless.

  3. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    ah, yes…”Boddy & Schauer”

Leave a Reply

