Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-27

I thought I’d get back to walking on Wednesday, but just when I was getting ready to go Tim Reist called me and reminded me that we were going to record our interview for July 5/6 in case I didn’t feel well. A short while later Dave Marks showed up and turned our kitchen into a recording studio. It was pretty cool.

It was fun, but it’s complicated, though more for Dave than anyone else. First he shot me answering Tim’s questions. Then he shot both Tim and I for the opening. Finally he shot Tim asking the questions. I think it will turn out pretty well. I’m hoping the live version will be as good or better. Pray I feel well enough to both sing and do the interview. I’ve asked for a copy to put on YouTube later.

Our friends Jon and Bev Burnham came by a short while later. Jon had briefly been a major league pitcher and has now authored two books. He wrote “The Winning Pitch” a few years ago and recently completed and published “In The Big Inning“.

I sat down with Jon and recorded a short video interview of my own that I posted to YouTube. I forgot to tell Eileen to avoid showing my bare feet, but it isn’t like I’m a professional. Check it out.

Thursday I finally got back to walking. I also “swam/walked” a third of a mile in the pool. It took me every bit of 25 minutes so I wasn’t setting any speed records. Part of that I was talking with Amy, so maybe it was better than I thought. The sun and water felt very nice, but getting into the water is hard. Amy couldn’t believe how wimpy I was, but at first it is just freezing.

God has been causing me to think a lot about joy recently. I’ve said this before, but it is so true. I’ve felt more incredible joy during this past six months than any other period in my life. In fact, I’m not sure I knew real joy before this. Oh, I knew happiness, but happiness is circumstantial and about “now”. Not bad, but very different. I can feel joy even in the midst of pain, which is hard to be happy about šŸ™‚ I am especially joyful when I focus on things I’m thankful for like my wife, my kids and all of you who have been such an incredible support.

“For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for a lifetime; Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy comes in the morning.” (Psalm 30:5)

“and the ransomed of the LORD will return. They will enter Zion with singing;everlasting joy will crown their heads. Gladness and joy will overtake them, and sorrow and sighing will flee away.” (Isaiah 35:10)

Thursday night I went to soaking prayer for the first time in a while. I encouraged my friend Tim to come with his wife and they did, so we prayed for them, which was great. Tim is starting CPT-11 and Avastin today because they think he may be having a recurrence after two years. When you pray for me, please think of my friends Tim and Colleen.

You would think that after six months I would have been able to train myself to focus my eyes all the way to the left first to make sure I see things completely, text in particular. Unfortunately that has just not happened. The good news is, that it provides as much humor for me as it does frustration. I often don’t realize I didn’t read something completely only when I get done and think “That just doesn’t make sense” or ” That is ridiculous” (not that I’m critical or anything).

I went for blood work this morning and they said we would need to speak with billing first. It was kind of like having to go to the principal’s office. You might think this would be very natural for me, since I spent lots of time there as a kid. However, we didn’t talk about owing money, at least not ME owing money. Sorry, Mom and Dad! We cleared it up enough to get the labs done, but it won’t be the last time.

I’m heading to Macomb this afternoon to spend time with family and high school friends so I probably won’t send anything out until Sunday or Monday. I may even get to golf with my dad and brother, though calling what I do now “golf” is a huge stretch. I will get to drive a golf cart though šŸ™‚

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-06-27”

  1. Angie Says:

    I am sad we will not be here this weekend to see you. We will have to get the podcast. Really I am only a little sad, though, because we will be at my folks fishing and enjoying some good ol’ Redneck Missouri fireworks teaching our kids how to shoot bottle rockets and the likes. Brian is finishing the end of his 2 weeks of Avastin and CPT-11 and he usually feels good until the next one starts again on Monday.

    KEEP BELIEVING

Leave a Reply

