Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-01

[Don’t forget that you can always click on a picture to see a much larger version]

I had an incredible weekend going to Macomb, where I lived from 1968 to 1984. It started with my ride from Dave and Donna (Jobe) Brooks. Donna was a year behind me in my sister Sue’s class.

Donna and I also went to college together and were involved with the Navigators. Donna shared verses God gave her specifically about me.

“And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.” (Romans 8:11)

“I will not die but live, and will proclaim what the LORD has done.” (Psalm 118:17)

I’ve shared the second one before back on January 30, but it’s pretty cool that Donna was directed to those passages. I may already be healed, but DON’T STOP praying!

I need to give you a bit of background to understand what I did over the weekend and why it was so much fun. Each year classes who have a reunion (5th, 20th, etc.) can have floats in the Heritage Days parade and graduates from that year ride on it. In 2002 many in my class of ’77 were on our float when the class of ’78, my sister Sue’s class, attacked them with water balloons and squirt guns. In 2003 my class stepped it up and “humiliated” them (their words, not mine). In 2007, our 30th, the class of ’78 came after us with a vengeance. Though my class had rain gear, big plastic tarps and more, they did an excellent job retaliating. Clearly defending the float is much harder.

This year it was our turn to attack their float and my first year to participate. It’s not possible to communicate in this update how much fun this is, though watching the video of 2003 and 2007, which I hope will someday be on YouTube, can give you a good idea. Each year it escalates and this was no exception.

I met many of my classmates, some I hadn’t seen in 30 years, shortly after arriving in Macomb. We met at “Soak Central” and planned the four places we would launch attacks. After that we raided their dinner party at the country club. One of the guys from our class was at the dinner and when they were watching the video of previous years he called us and said, “The time is now! The time is now!” So we ran in, spraying them with silly string and holding up signs, like “You Started It”.

It was a riot. Once back outside several of them came out and we took a few pictures. As serious as this rivalry is the classes are very close. My friend John said to them, “So, nothing tomorrow during the parade, right?” Of course,not šŸ˜‰

After we left the country club about seven of us decided to see if we could peek at their float. We went to where they had it stored, and could not believe they left a window unlocked, and we decided to do a bit of redecorating. They had told us they expected to win, so we were careful not to damage it. Good thing because they really did have an impressive float and ended up winning. We took pictures with us on their float and pretending to do things like spray paint it and burn it.

Later that night I got to meet even more friends from high school at a popular local bar. It was fantastic to see them. Many are praying for me and they were so encouraging. Except for my sister Anita, all my siblings were back and we got this great picture, so I finally got Jul and Steve on the blog.

The water fight during the parade was just amazing. This is the first attack on the ground.

Here was the second attack point and you can see many balloons in the air. I’m up on that roof throwing as quickly as I can. In the video there were rarely less than 10 balloons in the air at a time! šŸ™‚ We probably threw over 1000 balloons. The street was soaked and covered with pieces of balloons of every color.

If you want to see the rest of the pictures they are on my flickr site here. It has been a while since I had that much fun. Local TV crews know it is going to happen and they capture it all. It was on the news by noon šŸ™‚ It isn’t just people in our two classes. People’s kids and even my nieces and nephews join in the melee.

Saturday night my sister Sue had a big party at her house and people from both classes attended. We watched the video from 2003, 2007 and this year. It was the second time I watched it and I wish I had a copy. One can only imagine what 2012 will be like, but you can be sure both sides are already scheming. I have a pretty checkered background and this is right up my alley šŸ™‚

Sunday I got to golf. We played a three-way two man scramble. Me and Steve, dad and my nephew Jack, and my brother-in-law Mike and my nephew Sam. Steve and I did well through five holes, but fell apart. By the time we finished I was completely out of energy.

Yesterday I was still weak, but my right arm also hurt. Eileen reminded me that I had golfed, which I don’t do very often. But you know what I do even less frequently than that? Throw dozens of water balloons from a second story building šŸ™‚

My head hurt both Monday and today, but it’s feeling better right now. I get blood work done tomorrow and if it’s good I get my chemo IV on Friday and start five days of Temodar. I am hoping I have plenty of energy to do my interview with Tim for all three services. It’s the first part in a series called “Live Like You’re Dying”.
Oh, I’m singing too, so it should be interesting.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-01”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    We miss Paglia’s! We frequented Macomb annually just to get a pizza before moving to Texas. Then we turned around and went right back home. Yup. It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

