Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-10

I usually try to write something more often than this, but just haven’t felt up to it. Apologies in advance that there are no pictures or humor. It’s tough to even try to be funny when you are in constant pain.

Even though I struggled Friday night after my treatment God enabled me to do Saturday evening’s service and both services on Sunday morning. None were the same. I spoke as the Spirit prompted me. I think the 11am Sunday morning service was the best. I’ve asked for a copy of it to put on YouTube, so stay tuned.

Those who attended could not have been more supportive. Many stood and clapped when Tim introduced me and my dad said they stood and clapped again when I left. You have no idea how meaningful that is to me. One of the coolest things was when we asked anyone who has had cancer or who is fighting it right now to stand. Many stood, including my dad during Sunday 2nd service. I got to pray for them first and it was emotional, but I loved it.

I am glad we don’t have three services on Sunday. I wouldn’t have made it. Dad and I watched Wimbledon when we got home, but at the rain delay I went to rest. As a result I missed the end of what may have been the best final in Wimbledon history. Bummer.

On Monday dad was admitted to the hospital, but had none of the vaso vegal symptoms he did a couple weeks ago. I rested much of the day because my stomach and head pain had gotten much worse. In the afternoon I was worried enough about my mental state that I forced myself out for a walk. It didn’t help much.

Tuesday mom went to the hospital for dad’s prostate surgery and we planned to go later. Mom called a short while later to say they had to stop the surgery. They feared hitting a couple big veins and impacting dad’s legs or worse. So, no prostate surgery. The good news is that the doctor found and removed some tumorous lymph nodes and the initial biopsy is benign, which is great. I worried that dad would be discouraged, but after hearing the whole story from the doctor he was pretty encouraged. He had to stay overnight and I wasn’t sure it wouldn’t be two nights. However, he called us after we were home and was already up walking around! They went home Wednesday afternoon, but will be back next week to plan next steps to treat his prostate surgery.

This has been one of my hardest weeks ever. I finally called my Dr. Geoffroy (local) on Tuesday and he moved my MRI up to this Friday. I’m hoping to have it include the cervical spine as well, but the only way my insurance will do that is to talk directly to a doctor at Duke first. I haven’t been able to coordinate that yet and am running out of time. I can’t say I’m excited about doing a 90 minute MRI, but the shooting pain in my neck, back and right shoulder are concerning enough to warrant it. Wait! I just got through to Dr. Vredenburgh at Duke and he is calling UHC right now. He said that in some rare cases it can spread to the spine. When I said I sure hope it hasn’t, he replied, “I don’t think it has, but let’s make sure.”  I love Duke. Oh, and he just emailed that the spinal MRI is approved!

Please pray for my head pain and nausea to disappear and my strength to return. My stomach is really messed up and I have to force myself to eat. I’d love to outsource that task and know many friends who would do it if it would help. 🙂 Pray too that I can endure  90 minutes and that the results are very positive.

Lastly pray for Eileen.  She has been care taker extraordinaire. Not only has taking care of me been harder, she took care of my parents and is now getting the house ready for a our friends Bob and Jennifer to tell a small group of us what they’ve been up to and what they’ll do next. To top it all off, she just came in my office and found out it was my shoe that was tracking mud all over the house, but she didn’t complain!  I am blessed.

I promise pictures and at least some humor next time. No one wants to read Debbie Downer’s blog 🙂

I forced myself to walk yesterday too and one of the Psalms I listened to was Psalm 128:

“Blessed are all who fear the LORD, who walk in his ways.You will eat the fruit of your labor;blessings and prosperity will be yours.Your wife will be like a fruitful vine within your house; your sons will be like olive shoots around your table.Thus is the man blessed who fears the LORD.May the LORD bless you from Zion       all the days of your life; may you see the prosperity of Jerusalem,and may you live to see your children’s children. Peace be upon Israel.”

Seeing my children’s children is definitely on my bucket list!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

2 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-10”

  1. Craig McDonald Says:

    We will keep you and your family in our prayers, Don.

  2. Nick Wooler Says:

    My families thoughts and prayers are with you and yours. Keep up the fight! You are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

