Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-13

Thursday night I walked before going to soaking prayer. For the first time I had to call Eileen and have her come and pick me up. I try to walk for an hour, but I over did it this time.Imagine that. I’m sure I could have made it home, but didn’t want to take any chances.

Friday I had my super long MRI. Thanks for praying. The pain in my head was minimal the entire 90 minutes, which was great. I was in Morton (a city just south of Peoria) at a new Saint Francis facility. The machine was brand new and they had goggles you could put on to watch a movie. Very cool. Unfortunately I forgot my camera, otherwise I’d have a picture for you. You don’t get to hear sound, but it is a helpful distraction. Eileen thought I should have chosen Finding Nemo, but I chose a documentary about the space shuttle called The Dream Is Alive.

They started by doing 20 minutes of my head. I got plenty of cushion for my head, so much so that I couldn’t wear the movie goggles for that part. Then I got off the table and they reconfigured it for my spine and I did 40 minutes with the goggles. Then they inject me with contrast, which has some kind of metal in it, I think. Finally they did another 15 minutes of my spine, change the table back and finish with 12 minutes of my brain. It went faster than I thought it would and I was very happy to be done. I hope to know results on Monday, but it could take until Tuesday. Please keep praying.

Friday night we hosted our friends Bob and Jennifer. It ended up being a
mini reunion of those who attended Christ Missionary Church back in the 80′s. Bob and Jennifer are an incredible inspiration to me about how to live your life for others.

Saturday night we went with our friends John and Susie Chaney to see “Oklahoma!” at Peoria Players. It was all high school kids and younger. The girl who played the female lead Laurey was the daughter of friends Ted and Sharon Pittenger, Anna. All the kids were really good, but Anna and the male lead were quite impressive.

Today was the second part in our series at church called “Live Like You Were Dying”. I was glad to be in the audience. Our friend Pat Hancock and her son Andrew, who we hadn’t seen in years, came for a visit and took us to Panera for lunch.

Pat and her husband Alan led the Navigator ministry at Western Illinois University when Eileen and I were there. They were instrumental in both of us becoming Christians and meeting.

I get another IV this Friday and I’m still nauseous and have a bad taste in my mouth. The weirdest thing is when all of a sudden, like last night, my mouth and tongue feel chemically burned. Fortunately I was eating frozen custard (Culver’s) and THAT still tastes good.

One other weird thing I noticed is that my facial hair is either not growing or growing very slowly and has turned even more white. I guess that means I won’t look like Gandalf any time soon.

I’m not feeling a whole lot better, but I’m doing much better mentally thanks to your prayers and notes of encouragement.

“Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, ‘The LORD has done great things for them.’ The LORD has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy.” (Psalm 126:2-3)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-13”

  1. Elaine Burnell Says:

    Thanks for your continual updates. God sure has been using you in big ways. You remain in my prayers.

    Elaine

  2. Kelly Nelson Says:

    It was great seeing you in Macomb. You are an inspiration to so many who are fighting this horrible disease. I wish that Andy’s dad could find the strenght to embrace his “good days” as well as you seem to. I hope for all the best for you and your family. ~K

  3. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Still praying BIG for you and Eileen and family.

    Al Hancock. I remember him. Thank you. What perfect people to come visit you…his wife and son.

Leave a Reply

