Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-15

I finally got my MRI results today. This scan was “better” than the one on 5/28, which is great. The spinal scan showed no signs of metastasis to the spine, which was a real concern. Isn’t that fantastic news? I’d like more details, but couldn’t get them. When I do I’ll share. I still don’t know what is causing the headaches or the neck/back/shoulder pain, but I’m encouraged with the results. Thank you for all your prayers. God has been showering me with grace and mercy. I am very thankful.

When I called today to get the results I was initially told Dr. Geoffroy would share them with me during my office visit on 7/30. What!? It was ridiculous. The initial MRI was scheduled for 7/24. Why did we bother moving it up? It upset me that I had to push at all, but fortunately pushing is no problem for me πŸ™‚ I tried to explain that by that time I’d already be back from Duke and wouldn’t need him to tell me, but I guess that’s “policy”. Did they really think I was going to wait for over two weeks to find out? I can still hardly believe it.

This chemo is definitely affecting growth of hair and making it fall out in some places. Very strange. The good news is that my legs are silky smooth and I didn’t even have to dull Eileen’s razor. I’ve told Eileen for years that I was worried I’d be in a wheelchair and she would do some ridiculous comb over of my ear and/or nose hair. Well, right now I’m not worried about it πŸ™‚

I don’t know how this is possible, but I must brag on myself a bit. Somehow I’ve managed to be constipated AND have diarrhea. This takes real talent. Not just anyone can accomplish this feat. Don’t attempt this at home. I won’t detail the issues this creates. You may already be scarred for life by the mental images brought to mind πŸ™‚

My head felt better yesterday, but my stomach was a raging chemo inferno. Not sure why all of a sudden, but it wasn’t good. I was really happy I felt well enough to keep my golf date late yesterday afternoon. My friend Tim Reist, who interviewed me a couple Sunday’s ago, was my partner. We squared off against my friends Doug Cheney and Jeff Ringenberg.

We were tied coming to the 9th green and Tim and I had a much shorter putt. However, both Jeff and Doug almost sank the 60+ footer and neither of us could get ours down from 15. Very sad. As Doug said, I guess we just need to go out again. I played much better than when I was in Macomb and actually look forward to going again.

We grabbed dinner afterwards at Old Chicago with Cheneys and Ringenbergs. Jeff and Jean had great stories from his recent mission trip to the Philippines and their daughter’s wedding.

Next time we agreed we’ll play cards after dinner. I hope they aren’t talkers like some of you. I can smell the fear over the internet πŸ™‚

Please pray for Mike and Wendy and their family. Mike’s mom Vi has only hours to live. This is no surprise and everyone knows she is going to a much better place, but it’s still hard. I hurt for Mike and his kids and I will miss Vi. She is a woman of incredible character, strength and faith. Her impact on me, though most indirect via Mike, is incalculable . Pray for Mike’s dad Terry too.

I go for blood work to see if I can get another chemo IV this Friday. I feel confident my counts will be high enough and I want to stay the course with this aggressive treatment, but sometimes I would just like to call timeout πŸ™‚ My forearms have still not recovered from the last IV, so that concerns me a little. However, I will definitely be asking for a crisis nurse to stick me. Pray!

My friend Bill Allison did a great job on the second part of the series “Live Like You Were Dying” and talked about “Prioritizing Well”. He shared this verse from the only Psalm written by Moses (did you know Moses wrote a Psalm?):

“Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

