Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-17

I forgot to mention that I got to talk with Megan the other day. She’s a counselor at Camp La Jolla in San Diego and had the day off. She was on the beach at Oceanside. Was she calling to brag? I don’t think so, but near the end of our call a bird pooped all over her hand. That doesn’t seem to happen near as often here where it gets very hot and very cold and we can’t see the ocean. I just hope she’s picking up on that πŸ™‚

Mike’s mom, Vi, passed away at 7:30am yesterday. Amazingly, she woke up at 1am and called Mike. I was so glad he got to talk with her one last time. We know she is in a much better place, but it is still hard for Mike, his dad Terry and immediate family. I started thinking about how long we’ve been close friends with the Monahans and came across this great picture as proof:

It is still not clear how these women got involved with such notorious and ruthless outlaws. πŸ™‚

The impact Vi has had on my life, directly and indirectly through her son Mike, is incalculable. She was a woman of incredible energy, determination and faith. I’ll never forget talking with her a few months ago (right before we took the picture below) concerning how we both felt about facing our mortality. We cried together, but they were tears of joy, not sadness. We’ll all miss her, but her spirit will always be a vivid memory.

My blood work came back very good today so I’ll be getting another chemo IV (oh, yea!) at the hospital tomorrow. We’re going in at 8am in hopes to get done by 2pm. Please pray that I do well getting the IV. As soon as we finish we’ll head to Springfield, MO to be with the Monahans at the funeral on Saturday.

After two fairly good days with only a few periods of tiredness and head pain, today I had one of the best days I can remember. I had really forgotten what it was like to think clearly for an entire day. It was very encouraging.

“A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones” (Proverbs 17:22)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

