Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-24

I forgot one funny thing that happened at the hospital Friday. While talking to Aho’s I said that I might be able to help with the driving later that night or on the return Saturday. Debbie quickly said, “I vote no” and Eileen agreed. Party pooper. I told them I’d be fine and only had problems when things were too fast, to which Eileen immediately said, “You mean like cars!” She’s such a smart-aleck.

Monday my dad came for a short visit after his doctor appointment. He came bounding in asking if I wanted to go golfing! 🙂 One track mind. It was good to see him looking and feeling so much better. I told him to take it slow and he said he would. Which just means he waited until Tuesday. He shot a 38 for nine holes. I hope that capability is in my genes somewhere, but I’m doubtful. Sounds like Dad will probably take care of his prostate by using Cryo technology and freezing it. It’s an overnight procedure and he can be back on the golf course in 7-10 days. If he stays off that long I’ll be amazed.

Tuesday I got a visit from my good friend and co-worker Neil Wilson. He was in IL on vacation visiting his family. I was so grateful he was willing to drive up and visit. It was short, but we covered a lot of ground, including sports, movies, family, food, church and our favorite topic work/technology.

He’s one of the smartest people I know and also has one of the quickest wits and a fantastic dry sense of humor.

Monday and Tuesday were ok days. The nausea is always present, but better than Saturday and Sunday. My headaches got bad again, but Wednesday was pretty good. When I was getting a Kytril pill Wednesday morning I had to smile at this notice on the packages:

I actually don’t think the headaches are caused by the Kytril, but don’t you laugh sometimes when you hear drug commercials on TV? You’re excited that they have something to help your cholesterol or nasty foot fungus, but then you aren’t sure whether it’s worth blindness, deafness, having a limb fall off or some level of paralysis. “Do you feel lucky, punk? Huh? Do you?” 🙂

Mike and Wendy came by Tuesday night and we had a great time. The couch Mike repaired is already broken. An unnamed person said, “Well maybe the kids were just leaning on it”, however, I know it was because they somehow think it is a trampoline. We talked most of the time, but managed to fit in one game of euchre. Wendy wanted me to write this update immediately after she and Eileen won. Sadly I must point out that she will go to extreme lengths to win. Wendy did the program for Mike’s mom’s funeral. She really did do a great job on it:

She tells the three of us, “I did have one fairly big grammar/spelling error.” So of course Mike and I are totally focused on finding it and just playing out of the corner of our eyes, exactly what she planned. Ten grammar/spelling errors later, none of them “correct” we lose. Then she points it out. She can count that victory if she wants, but I sure wouldn’t feel good about it 😉

I couldn’t walk Friday-Monday, but got over four hours in in the past three days. It really felt good. Spent most of that time praying for different things and people, but did listen to some Psalms.

“Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress. He sent forth his word and healed them; he rescued them from the grave. Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men. Let them sacrifice thank offerings and tell of his works with songs of joy.” (Psalm 107:19-22)

I ‘m so thankful for how good God has been to me and I’m blessed beyond anything I deserve. Each of you are part of that blessing. We leave for Duke on Saturday and return late Monday. Pray for safe travel and more encouraging details about my last MRI.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

