Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-31

Wednesday morning I had my first Dr. Geoffroy appointment without Dr. Geoffroy. Instead I met with Doreen, a nurse practitioner and I really liked her and not just because she agreed that not being told the MRI results until three weeks later was ridiculous. She checked my nose and throat and said I had a sinus infection, so I’m on antibiotics for the next 10-20 days. Taking more pills is not a problem. Remembering to take them is!

Wednesday afternoon I got a visit from my friend Ken McPherson. Ken was another co-worker at Sun. He is one of the best salesmen I have ever worked with and I loved visiting him and his customers in Toronto.

We had a great visit, giving each other ideas for the businesses we’re in now. We also both love to read, though these days I mostly listen. Ken is an avid reader and he’s introduced me to several great authors, including Brad Thor. We can’t get together again soon enough. Ken, you’re first class. Thanks for the visit!

Wednesday night we went for a quick visit to Monahans, but didn’t get to play any cards. We did get to see Mike’s dad Terry again. He was here getting a new computer. It isn’t that they don’t have them where he lives, but the technical support from his son and grandsons is only available locally ๐Ÿ™‚ We ended up watching the end of Evan Almighty. The dance scene at the end of that is still one of the best parts.

I finally walked again yesterday for the first time after my trip to Duke. I’m now walking for around 75 minutes. It gives me lots of time to pray and I also listen to the bible or podcasts. My ipod hasn’t flaked out on me now for over a week, which is great because doing a Fonzi – smashing it on my desk – is probably not great, though it is quite effective.

Tonight our friend Mike Jordahl came for a visit. Mike was training to be Navigator Staff at Western Illinois University when I was a junior and Eileen was a freshman. Mike had a big impact on both of us when we were young Christians. Now Mike is the US Director for all collegiate Navigator staff and has one of the biggest hearts for people and God.

We caught up on family (his three sons are the same age as our three oldest) and friends. It was fun to reminisce about our days at Western. Thanks for visiting and for dinner, Mike! We appreciate your friendship.

My temodar arrived via FedEx today so I’m ready to start my 3rd cycle of all three drugs. Ready in the sense that “it is time” more than I’m prepared” ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll get the IV on my right arm, partly because I rotate which arm and partly because my left arm is still black and blue where I got stuck last time. Have I mentioned that I hate needles? In fact I am no fan of hospitals. When I walk down the halls I look straight ahead, so as not to accidently see “stuff” in any of the other rooms. I don’t even want to accidently hear “stuff”. Can any of you relate?

I listened to a message by James MacDonald today on this passage:

“Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble. Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. For, Whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it.ย  For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayer,but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.” (1 Peter 3:8-12)

I think for the best of us, or should I say you, it is hard to live like that. People are messy ๐Ÿ™‚ However, I definitely want to be blessed and also to see good days. Today was a good day and I’m very thankful for it.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-07-31”

  1. Maureen Says:

    Hi there, Don. I saw you speak a few weeks ago at Northwoods and just now stumbled on your web site (us college kids have nothing better to do with our lives than surf the web). Anyway, I want to let you know that I was extremely inspired when I heard you speak. I sat there, tears and snot running down my face, truly amazed at your spiritual strength.
    The honesty in that testimony, as well as in this blog, is moving. Indeed, your writing has a unique voice that conveys a grateful, humble man.
    Thank you for speaking out about all you’ve been through. Your testimony made a difference in THIS seeker’s life. You are spectacular proof of sunshine after a storm. May I someday soon put my life in God’s hands just as you have.
    God bless you,
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

