Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-04

Treatment on Friday was slightly better than two weeks earlier. The IV hurt a bit less and I didn’t get sick quite as fast, but I did get sick. Amazingly, and I almost hate to say it, I have only thrown up once and that was the first day I took temodar when no one told me to take the anti-nausea at least an hour beforehand.

Eating has been quite difficult. Have you ever tried eating after being sucker punched in the gut? That is pretty much what it’s like. The weird taste, I think primarily from the temodar, doesn’t help either. You’d think they could put a nasty chemical like that in a sweet capsule, but the taste even from the capsule is enough to gag you. Thank goodness I only have two more days of it.

I rested quite a bit on Friday after treatment and then Saturday and Sunday afternoon. However, I did get my walking in both days. Sunday I talked my “seeing eye wife’ into going with me. Actually she was more like my safeguard against “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up” 🙂

I can’t believe it, but Brett Favre is actually back in Green Bay. I haven’t read the latest today, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited that he will have a chance to QB the Packers again this year. There are lots of bad scenarios that could occur, but I’m hopeful. Cal, our pastor who is as big a GB fan as I am, told the congregation that he would be fine if Brett played for the Bears this year as long as he played against GB just like he did against the Bears last year 🙂 Funny, but sick. I’d rather see him in purple than navy blue.

My dad is coming to town again tomorrow for a second attempt to take care of his prostate. This time they will freeze and kill it. He is only supposed to be there overnight, which is great. Please pray that there are no complications and that he recovers very quickly.

When it rains it pours. Wendy’s parents were in a car accident last night and her mom Carol injured her back pretty badly and is in severe pain. They will try a brace tomorrow, but will perform surgery if that doesn’t help. I don’t know how she’ll keep up her dialysis every Tue, Thu and Sat. Just to make it a bit more complicated, Wendy had to leave today for a mission trip to Seoul, Korea! Please pray for Carol and Dale.

I listened to Ecclesiastes today after Cal spoke this weekend on “Nevertheless” (1 Kings 11:2) about Solomon and how 95% commitment to God is 5% too little. I lost count of how many times he says “it is a chasing after the wind” in Ecclesiastes, but I think it’s sour grapes from a guy who even after 700 wives and 300 concubines couldn’t find a good woman. Maybe it wasn’t the women! He did write the verse I inscribed on my wife’s engagement ring:

“As a lily among thorns, so is my love among the maidens.” (Song of Songs 2:2)

This weekend my friends Kirk Moser and Harold Greene are performing a song they wrote in a very short period of time. It’s called “Rearview Mirror” and it’s on iTunes. The words fit my life and I love the chorus:

“I’m gonna keep on walkin, no matter how steep the climb might be; I’m gonna keep on driving, until all that I can see; is a big ole mountain just starin back at me; in my rear view mirror”

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

Leave a Reply

