Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-05

We awakened around 4:30 or so when the power went out. Did you know that your water softener can get stuck in regeneration mode and flood your basement? It can. Let me show you. 🙂

I wish I had known enough to check the water softener and push this bypass valve to the right, but I didn’t. The water kept rushing into the softener, out to the drain and into the evacuation pit. Without power the evacuation pump didn’t empty the water and the drain backed up. Fortunately my friend Dan (who STILL doesn’t have power) knew why I was hearing rushing water, even with the power off. Once I pushed the bypass valve to the right the water stopped. However, the damage was done. Expensive plumbing lesson.

I hope this isn’t becoming an annual event, but for the second year straight we’ve had to tear up our basement because of water damage. There are 10 huge dryers down there. Do you know what that will do to my electric bill?! 🙂 Have you ever heard of “black water”? It’s contaminated water, which is assumed if a drain backs up, like mine did. I’m learning all kinds of fun stuff. The Cubs don’t need to win the World Series for us to remember 2008.

My dad had successful prostate freezing (cryo) today, though he would prefer recovery to be less painful and faster. Wouldn’t we all!

He especially wasn’t happy that they ignored him for 20 minutes after he pushed his red button. None of us liked the answer, but it happens. He also wanted to know what it would take for him to go home tomorrow. I left before he got an answer, but for the first time he’ll be glad it doesn’t include shooting 38 for nine :(golf) -) Wendy’s mom Carol is doing better and a brace appears to be helping and that may prevent her needing surgery. Thank you for praying for them.

Eileen wouldn’t let me walk outside yesterday (a heat index of 106). She’s such a meanie. I didn’t walk today either because I have too much head pain and nausea. Eating is tough. This morning I pulled a “we don’t have power so I need pancakes at Bob Evans.” (hey, I’m no dummy) They didn’t taste good at all, but at least Kelly and Lucie enjoyed them.

Some of our stuff was ruined today. It’s just stuff. It reminded me why having stuff can be such a pain. My  family and friends are OK, I have a roof over my head, five senses that work, sort of. I’m not constipated (yet). Today is my last day of temodar for 23 days! I have you as friends. I’m blessed far beyond what I deserve and I am truly thankful.

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. ” (Matthew 6:19-21)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-05”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    “When it rains it pours?” NOT funny. By the way, our friends’ house flooded after their daughter was paralyzed last year (Betsy – you’ve been praying for her). They spent Christmas in a hotel while clean up took months. You have said you have had a very low tolerance for “petty”; they have said they have a new definition!

    Yikes. Isn’t one major crisis at a time enough? Imagine if you had NO sense of humor through all of this.

    So do you like Brett in GREEN and WHITE?

Leave a Reply

