Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-17

We got some great news at soaking prayer on Thursday night. My friend RayAnn, who I’ve asked you to pray about before, now has NO signs of lung cancer and it has not metastasized anywhere else. A bona fide miracle. Her doctor said something like, “I’m not sure I understand this.” Yes, our God does miracles so keep praying!

She isn’t trying, but Eileen subconsciously must want me to mention her. My work phone rang the other day and when I picked it up no one was there. A few seconds later it rang again. It was Eileen. She said, “I just called a minute ago and thought someone else was calling you, but after I hung up I realized it was me.” They assured me this brain cancer was not contagious ๐Ÿ™‚

I thought Friday might be one of our quickest days, but it wasn’t. We got into the room before 8:30. Our favorite nurse, Jeri, was teaching class, but had left instructions to call her when we arrived so she could come and start my IV. I was very grateful. However, it took her a long time to get away and unfortunately it took three sticks to get it to work. My arms are really not doing well. We finally got out of there at 3:30 and I wasn’t feeling well at all. This is by far the sickest I’ve felt since we started back in June. I wanted to force myself to throw up, but Eileen talked me out of it. Fortuantely, God decided to help me out and at 1am, for the first time, I couldn’t hold back. I think if I hadn’t, I would not have gotten any sleep.

I couldn’t do anything but lay around Saturday. I didn’t feel quite as bad, but was still quite nauseous. I had to prepare to speak that night, but just couldn’t. At 3pm it was time to pick Megan up at the airport. I wouldn’t have missed that for anything. She’s been gone for 9 weeks and it was great to see her again.

She had so many things to tell us and the pictures she took of her co-counselors, team and sites they visited were excellent. Hard to believe she turns 21 in just a few weeks. Did you know that between August 24th and September 26th we have all four girls birthdays and our anniversary? ๐Ÿ™‚

By the grace of God I made it to the Purity Celebration at Mike and Wendy’s church and was able to speak. I warned them up front that it was an emotional topic for me and I was right. I can’t talk when I choke up, but I don’t get the least bit embarrassed. It’s just who I am.

It went ok, but I was glad to be done. As I told them, I’m the least likely person to be speaking on this topic and I don’t think there are any speaking tours in my future, but I am passionate about it and appreciated the opportunity. Thank you, Pam and Annessa!

For the first time I decided to stop taking any anti-nausea. I’m still nauseous and struggling to want to eat, but I am able to force food down and keep it there. My weight was at 150.5 this morning and I fear will drop into the 140s sometime this week. Please pray that it doesn’t, that I can keep eating and also that I do a better job keeping myself hydrated.

I got my hour and 15 minutes of walking in this evening, but my heel is definitely bruised, making it hard at the start. I’m sure my jelly inserts have helped, but maybe I just walk weird. I got to thinking about how far I’ve walked since I started back in mid-January and it is easily over 350 miles. Amazing what a life-threatening illness can motivate you to do.

School starts tomorrow for us. Hard to believe. Lauren in a new middle school, Kelly a high school sophomore, Amy a college freshman and Megan a college junior. We may not know where the time goes, but we do know where the money is going. College and drugs (the legal kind)ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” (Matthew 6:25-27)

That is some pretty good advice of which I often need to be reminded.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-17”

  1. Brent Thurrell Says:

    Hey Don,

    I haven’t checked in with you for a while so I just wanted to let you know that I am keeping a watchful eye on your progress from this side of the pond ๐Ÿ™‚ The scans look really good – what an improvement!

    You are an inspiration my friend. Still praying specific and BIG for you like you ask in all your posts. Keep up all your good work.

    Stay strong,

    Brent ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

