Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-24

It’s been the longest break in my writing, but more out of being busy than not feeling well. Did you miss me? I know some of you won’t read this for a while, which is fine. You’re busy too.

I only got to walk two of the past seven days. At first it was because of the nausea, but then my heel was really hurting. I went to my personal doctor to have him check my heel and that is the first time I’ve seen him since he told me I had a tumor. We both agreed that I was doing well in large part because we caught it somewhat early. He told me to ice my heel 4-5 times a a day. I think I’m averaging .5 a day :-), but after 75 minutes today it felt pretty good.

I haven’t talked about it, but I am working. At least as much as I can between being sick, doing labs, seeing doctors and receiving my chemo treatment. I will talk more about this in the future, but I have incredible partners. This was a big week for us as we hired three employees. Suffice it to say we are slowly compensating for my weaknesses, though we all realize there are limits to how much this can be fixed. šŸ™‚

Thursday we went to the Garber’s with the Monahan’s, and had peach cobbler. Todd and Lisa had picked an amazing number of peaches and the trees were still sagging under the weight of what remained. I’m kicking myself for not having taken a picture. It was really impressive. I may have to have some on ice cream in a minute.

Friday Mike and Wendy came over to talk about a vacation we may take together, and we played cards. I was pretty distracted by the side conversations so I have no idea who won any of the games. If I was more competitive I’d probably remember.

Trying to figure out when I can get away for even part of a week given my treatment schedule is really hard, but we came up with a date in November. We’re going to Raleigh. Kidding šŸ˜‰ But we are thinking of going to Charleston, SC. All of us have wanted to go. We’ll see.

I got to sing this weekend at church so that took much of Saturday and Sunday. It was a great time and we sounded pretty good. I sometimes forget how much I enjoy it. If I could sing for a living – stop laughing – I would willingly give up computers.

We went out to lunch at one of Amy’s favorite places, B Dubs (Buffalo Wild Wings), for her 18th birthday. It was great to have all of us together. You can see why heads turn when I am out with my girls.

Earlier in the week we found out that for the first time we have a cheerleader living in our house – Lauren, our soon to be 13, 7th grader. We aren’t sure what to expect, but we know someone who couldn’t be more excited šŸ™‚

This afternoon we got a visit from my friend Shelli, who we call “The Egg Lady”. She has chickens on her farm and provides us with farm fresh eggs. Not only does this save us money, but we get the healthiest eggs around. Eggs have become a staple. How is my cholesterol? Are you serious? Hello, I have brain cancer šŸ™‚ Thanks, Shelli!

This afternoon I had one of my brief “moments”. I was really nauseous after eating, my head hurt, I was tired and the inside of my mouth felt like it had been chemically burned – most likely because it has :-). I do what I often have done when that occurs – got up and went walking. Once God helps me get my focus off of me things start getting better fast. I stopped worrying about how I would endure 8 more months of this and praised God that I was doing so well after 8 months when in January I wasn’t sure I had another 8 weeks. Perspective. Amazing what that can do for me.

It doesn’t take long for me to start thinking about you. What would I have done without you? I’ve needed and STILL need all of you. My Christian friends, my friends of other religions, my friends who aren’t religious at all. I’ll never forget several of you saying, “I’m not a praying person, but for you I’m willing to try. Just don’t blame me if you get a pineapple or something.” šŸ™‚ Hey, I love pineapple.

My friend Cindy Leach shared this perfect verse with me today:

“Moses answered the people, ‘Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.’ Then the LORD said to Moses, ‘Why are you crying out to me? Tell the Israelites to move on.'” (Exodus 14:13-15)

I frequently need to remember not to be afraid. I also need to remember to ‘move on’ because I know from experience that God’s grace kicks in after I step out in faith much more often than if I wait.

Please continue to pray that this cancer is completely eradicated and that my body is rid of every single cancer cell. Pray too that my eyesight will be restored soon. No one wants me to give in to the temptation to drive in this condition šŸ™‚ Lastly, pray for my dad’s complete recovery from his prostrate surgery, which is going slowly and can be discouraging, though he is a trooper. I got good genes!

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-24”

  1. Keely Wahl Says:

    You certainly have a beautiful family!

    Perspective indeed! Mark has me distracted these days by weekly trips to various Goodwills around Puget Sound–usually at least 2 per week! Not only that, but I also started adopting old, and often ailing, machines like Mark does. šŸ™‚ Then we sit around and discuss how these treasures could have ended up at Goodwill. Life is funny. It’s like thinking about how our lives lead to here (and now) and isn’t it lucky people came along to absorb us into their families.

    The clouds are becoming permanent again for the season here. I think we are better prepared to get through the next couple months without sun than when we moved here. At least I’m not shocked by it, even I frown a lot more and don’t want to go outside. And with all the extra sewing machines to spread around between homes now, we shouldn’t have to be apart for longer than 1 month at a time!

Leave a Reply

