Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-27

What a difference a day can make. Monday was one of my worst days in a long time for head pain. I was pretty miserable and working was quite difficult. I walked but if I didn’t think my life depended on it I wouldn’t have. Tuesday was SO much better. Amazing how much easier it is to talk and think when you’re not in constant pain. I am having real heel pain so I didn’t walk today, but my head pain was still not too bad.

My biggest issue right now is a couple mouth sores. This comes with the kind of chemo I’m on, but I don’t believe either of these was caused by it. However, if they aren’t healed by Friday I’m concerned that things could get out of control. Please pray for very fast healing. It only hurts bad when I eat or talk 🙂

OK, so stuff this funny, you just can’t make up. I put one thing about Wendy in my last update, but sent a “special” version to her. It told how she had beat me bad in cribbage and other things I would never say. I called her the next day and she said, “I’m really not happy with what you wrote the other day.” Does that mean she knows I tricked her? I’m not sure, so I said, “What did I say?” She replied, “You know. You’re so condescending”, which doesn’t help me. She then said, “I’m really upset about it” and I said, “Well you’re not as upset as you’re going to be”, getting a big laugh from her. So I told her the whole story and she said something mean 🙂 Then I told her that I was going to let her send me an email response which I would post unedited. She didn’t believe me, but I convinced her. True to my word, here is what she wrote:

Don called today to inform me that he is giving me a small amount of space in his update.  I would like to take this opportunity to make it clear that I feel no resentment towards Don even though he has consistently maligned and libeled, yes, libeled me in his otherwise inspiring epistles. No bitterness do I feel though I have been approached by strangers who, upon hearing my name, raise their eyebrows and say, “Oh, you’re that Wendy!”  I bear him no ill will as he is a man, competitive and fragile in nature (I took Intro. to Psychology in college) and I understand his need for constant validation of his supposed superiority.  I am quite content to allow him to claim victory in our little card games if it makes him feel good.   I will take this one, small opportunity to say that Eileen and I have had our fair share of wins and as a matter of fact I trounced him at Cribbage twice this week but you won’t hear about that in the update, no…still, no malice has entered my heart.  Just remember, dear reader, that you can’t believe everything you read on the internet.

What a relief! She’s not bitter or jealous at all, is she? 🙂 She obviously can’t hear either – I said “brief”. It gets better. She sent it to me with the question, “How’s this?”. So I send back, “Lovely. As I said it will go as is.” She replies, “When you say, ‘as is’ does that mean that you found typos that will make me look stupid?” I laughed out loud. It’s still funny. I have her right where I want her 🙂 I meant to send this out yesterday, but waiting was priceless. Here is the note I got tonight:

Ok, I get it.  Good one.  Make Wendy think she’s going to get space in your update.  Put her to the trouble to type it up and then…no update.  Funny.  I see how this is going to be.  Typical.

So I politely respond:

I HAVEN’T HAD TIME TO WRITE IT!!! SHEESH!!! I am no longer feeling bad at ALL about my trickery or teasing.

Maybe this is just funny to me, but I’m having so much fun with it.

While walking on Tuesday a verse came to mind:

“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.” (1 Peter 4:8)

I had been thinking about things that were bothering me and which I wanted to verbalize and prayed God would help me hold my tongue. Now I’m no bible scholar, but I had always thought the “loving” person was covering over the multitude of sins of the person they were loving. However, it hit me like a lightning bolt that maybe “loving”, in my case NOT verbalizing, was covering over MY multitude of sins.

“Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.” (James 4:17)

Last night we finally got to have dinner with our former neighbors Nate and Sherry Miller at their new house, which they’ve just completed some amazing work on.

This shows the amazing pool and the new screened in patio where we ate dinner. What did we have? Avantis of course 🙂 Here are more pics. Nate is my attorney and I help them with computers. They get some of the most expensive computer help in the entire world! 🙂 We love you guys. Thanks for all you do for us.

After dinner we played Sequence and fortunately I got Sherry as a partner.

She single-handedly trounced Eileen and Nate. Reminded me a lot of what Mike and I do to Eileen and Wendy.

One of the best parts of yesterday was the two new additions to my Packer collection. Believe it or not I didn’t have a Cheesehead, which was sent by a friend of my daughter Amy. Millers gave me the nice glass.

I go in for my 7th IV treatment on Friday. I hope to only get stuck once this time. Here is the damage from last time.

Click on the picture to see the larger image, but those bruises are fairly obvious. It wasn’t the nurse’s fault. It is just that hard to get an IV in my left arm. I’ll be using my right arm Friday.

Thank you for praying for my dad. He is doing MUCH better and on his way to full recovery. God is VERY good.

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-08-27”

  1. Joe Says:

    That’s very funny about Wendy… even though I don’t know you guys, still very funny. I was searching for anything related to cribbage.

    Cheers,
    Joe

Leave a Reply

