Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-06

Hard to believe it has already been over a week. Time flies when you’re having fun. I’ll update you quickly and get to the pictures and funnier items.

Friday’s treatment had fewer sticks, but I threw up twice. I’m hoping that doesn’t continue. Jeri, the charge nurse, who has now become a friend, was there to take care of us even though she had said she wouldn’t. It was a pleasant surprise.

I just don’t seem to be able to shake this nausea. About the only medication I haven’t tried is Marinol, which has marijuana. My oncologist said I’d be better off to smoke it and I think he was serious. We’ll see πŸ™‚

Saturday I rested most of the day. Monahan’s came by in the evening and we played cards. Mike and I won handily 2 games to 1. It was like taking candy from a baby. Just in case it wasn’t already clear to you, Wendy and I have never been mad at each other. We love to tease and jab each other, but this is, after all, my blog, so I get to do most of the teasing and jabbing. She loves it and doesn’t dispute that I am a far superior card and game player.

Sunday night Megan came by with her friends Brooke, Liz and Joey. We played The Great Dalmuti and Liz won every hand. I was a gracious host, but I’m glad that’s now out of the way πŸ™‚

Monday I completely reinstalled Windows on one of my laptops. I have no idea what the kids do in Windows, but it makes the machine run incredibly slow. After the reinstall its now super fast. Monday night we went to Monahan’s and Megan, Liz and Joey came by for more Great Dalmuti, which only the kids played. Mike and I got a game of cribbage in and I narrowly avoided being skunked.

Based on advice from our friends Nate and Sherry Miller I spent real money on a new pair of walking shoes – Asics Gel 130s. I’ve never spent this kind of money on gym shoes. They really make a difference, though my heal still hurts.

Unfortunately no amount of money on shoes will help you when you have no sense of fashion.

Actually this is what you get when you dress for walking in a dark closet. I don’t just walk. I entertain πŸ™‚

My good friend, former Sun co-worker and boss, Andy Land, visited from Austin. His real name is Jack Land. Doesn’t that sound like a secret agent? The first thing one of my daughters said was, “Candy Land” and Andy sarcastically replied, “Oh, I’ve never heard that before”. What was funny to me is that in all these years we’ve been friends that never crossed my mind. He must have been a really tough kid πŸ™‚

We packed in lots of activities for him being here less than 24 hours. As we usually do we talked about a million subjects: politics, work, religion, work, finances, work, etc. We are so different and yet our values are so similar. His friendship is one of my treasured take aways from working at Sun.

Andy, Eileen and I went to Olive Garden Friday night for dinner and I could not believe we ran into our friends Dave and Peggy Wiggins. They live less than a couple miles away, but we never see them. What made it realΒ  special was getting to see Dave’s parents, Carl and Carolyn. Carl was my very first boss out of college. I think he benefited from my earliest days of being a workaholic. I took a lot of ribbing from Carl and others about being a Christian, but I got even. I led his son Dave to Christ when he was in college πŸ™‚ Since then Carl has not only become a believer, but is a preacher and heavily involved in Walk to Emmaus. They are very special people to me and it was fantastic to run into them.

When we got home I taught Andy how to play cribbage. I had some of the most incredible hands and was just thrashing him, but somehow he started coming back. Quick thinking on my part saved the day. “Oh, did I forget to mention that once you’ve got over 100 points you also get to count tens?”

I’m not sure who will be more surprised – Andy or his next cribbage partner. Actually I’m just teasing, but he did keep asking Eileen, “Is he making that up?” Of course Eileen always wants me to lose. She gets that from her friend Wendy. Fortunately it has no impact on the outcome πŸ™‚

I asked Andy if he hadn’t been told and couldn’t see my scar, would he even know that I had a life-threatening illness and without missing a beat he said, “Actually I think they really made some improvements.” Funny guy. Thanks for visiting Andy! Everyone else has come more often or for longer in case you’re keeping score πŸ™‚

I wasn’t sure I’d survive, but it is finally football season! I couldn’t be more excited about this weekend. I’ll watch Brett the Jet tomorrow and then my Packers on Monday night. Yes, it will be weird, but I love both of them and it’s not baseball.

I am challenged more and more to be thankful. Isn’t it easy to be thankful when things are going just the way you want? It is for me. But when you get a curve ball thrown at you, wait, make that a wobbly, impossible to catch pass :-), then it is much harder. I am convinced that thankfulness is the key to unlocking some of God’s most incredibly blessings. For me it often comes simply by changing my perspective, which allows me to see how good I had it all along. I am one of the most blessed people on this planet. I have received God’s mercy and grace in doses far beyond what I deserve. Thank you God!

“You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing to you and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give you thanks forever.” (Psalm 30:11-12)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

One Response to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-06”

  1. Eric & Caren Hoehn Says:

    Thanks for the update, Don. I was getting a little worried we hadn’t heard from you but I figured a “Brett the Jet” update would definitely be coming, no matter how you were feeling. Uh oh…who would you root for if it were the Packers vs. Jets in the big one? Scarey. May you enjoy this beautiful day…and don’t walk at night in that garb, despite the temptation to hide the fashion thing. P.S. The name Dave Wiggins sounds very familiar.

Leave a Reply

