Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-14

Finally the NFL arrived last week, not a moment too soon for me. The only negative was being reminded how many commercials there are, but having something better than baseball is worth it. My Packers looked very good in both their wins. I was also happy to see Minnesota and Chicago lose this week after being up. The New York Bretts may not be as good as initially thought after the first week, but Brett still has it.

Hair update: Actually a facial hair update. I should just shave off my mustache. It looks like a 14-year old’s who doesn’t know better. And how in the world are my eyebrows doing so well?

OK, so I can’t take a decent self-photo. Looks like the Grinch’s dog doesn’t it? 🙂

I was pleasantly surprised that my labs came back pretty good on Wednesday. My platelets were up to 134K and only my nutrifils were really low. However, they’ve been lower so I was cleared for treatment.

Thursday night we celebrated Megan’s birthday. Not only did Garbers and Monahans come over, but so did many of Megan’s friends. Here they are with our family, minus Lauren.

After dinner we played four on a couch, a family favorite, which requires lots of people. Here is the couch and when it has all guys or all girls the game is over.

Here is the other side of the room, though at a different point in time.

You put the first name of each person in a hat and then draw them. You start with two girls and two guys on the couch and one empty chair in the circle. The person to the left of the empty spot calls a name. The person holding that name moves to the empty space and then trades names with the person who called it. This game will seriously test your memory. We played three rounds and the girls won twice, but the guys were distracted by the Cub game.

Here is Megan blowing out the forest fire on her incredibly pink cake.

After happy birthday, cake and ice cream they played animal concentration, which is also lots of fun with a large group. Each person is an animal and when someone imitates your animal you have to imitate your animal again and then someone else’s who is still in the game. If you mess up you’re out. Here’s what it looks like:

I was actually more ready for treatment on Friday than I thought I’d be. I didn’t throw up so thanks for praying. We got home by about 2:45 and I tried to avoid losing it until bed at around 11pm. Saturday and Sunday were only slightly better. It’s the worst acid indigestion and upset stomach you’ve ever had. Not fun.

Vision update: I finally figured out that when the numbers 2 and 5 are next to each other I almost always reverse them. Weird. I find out when the person who answers the phone is not who I expected. Of course ’52S’ is just a nightmare 🙂 I read a notice from our car/home insurance company the other day and thought it said, “payment is due”, but totally missed the “If” before it. As I was sharing this with Eileen she said, “Can’t you see your left thumb?” “Yes.” “Well why don’t you just make sure you see your thumb so you know you are looking far enough to the left.” If it was only that easy! 🙂

Our pastor, Cal, gave a great message today on attitude. I know only too well how much difference it makes and yet somehow I ended up with a bad one early this evening. I rarely have pity parties for myself, but for some reason I started having one. My head was hurting pretty bad and I was just sick of being sick. Only one thing to do when I get to that point – go for a walk and start thanking God for all my blessings. It never fails. I still feel sick and my head still hurts, but as Cal said, when I’ve fixed my eyes on my Hope instead of my hurt, my bad attitude washes away.

28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.

29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.

30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;

31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

(Isaiah 40:28-31)

I need a miracle, God specializes in them, pray BIG!

3 Responses to “Don Bowen Update: 2008-09-14”

  1. Keely Wahl Says:

    Your Bible verses always cheer me up! Especially this one. Thank you for being such a motivator!

  2. Bob Blakley Says:

    Hey Don; I have nothing earthshaking to add, but you’re on my mind.

    And yes, you should shave. 🙂

    Hang in there.

  3. Ruthe Hare Says:

    You don’t know me—(remember Jodi Hare? I’m her mom). You truly are an inspiration. We follow your progress and send lots of prayers.
    Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

